Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Navisworks- Dimensions as Element Property?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2011-06
    Location
    Holyoke, MA
    Posts
    8
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Navisworks- Dimensions as Element Property?

    Is there a way to export the dimensions of an element from Revit as a property in Navisworks? When clashing piping and duct it would be nice to see what size they are in the properties window instead of referencing the Revit file or measuring it on the screen.

  2. #2
    All AUGI, all the time pauljordan's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Rock -- Me -- Hard Place
    Posts
    749
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Navisworks- Dimensions as Element Property?

    If you're looking at the pipes in the Properties Palette, you should see what size they are if you have that property active in Revit.

    NavisWorks will display pretty much any value you have available to it as LONG as it's IN THE ORIGINAL DRAWING.. Those are the key words there..

    I explain to my students that NavisWorks is pretty much a PDF reader for all things 3D. If it prints in your original application, it'll show up in NavisWorks.

    I couldn't give you any advice on what to set up in the Revit MEP (If that's what you're using) as the client we're working for still uses Autocad MEP.

    Also, once you canmake sure you have the information in the NavisWorks Model, you can set up a Quick Property that will show the size of the pipe when you hover over the pipe in NW.
    Give a man AutoCad, and he'll draw you a floor plan.
    Give a man Revit and he'll build you a house.
    Give Cadmama a couple of drinks and she'll have everyone singing Rockytop!

Similar Threads

  1. NavisWorks Property
    By peterbvu174487 in forum NavisWorks - General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2011-01-25, 02:04 AM
  2. Add new property through Navisworks API
    By afxsteel in forum NavisWorks - General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2010-06-24, 10:57 PM
  3. Family mount height and Elevation in element property
    By 01chang in forum Revit Architecture - Families
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2007-07-14, 11:53 AM
  4. Family mount height and Elevation in element property
    By 01chang in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2007-07-14, 11:53 AM
  5. ABS2007 Help with an elevation Property Set for a Mass Element
    By stelthorst in forum Style Management
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2007-02-26, 01:57 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •