Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Best Practice to Update Spaces in Revit MEP

  1. #1
    I could stop if I wanted to Dr._House's Avatar
    Join Date
    2007-07
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    218
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Best Practice to Update Spaces in Revit MEP

    Hi All.

    What I have been doing is deleting them all out of the model, thru a space schedule. Then re-adding them back in and going from there. Is that the "best practice" for updating spaces in a Revit MEP project with a linked in Arch model, or is there a faster way that I am just missing?
    Technology Systems Specialist
    Architecture & Building Engineering
    Mead & Hunt
    Wauwatosa, WI

  2. #2
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2010-01
    Posts
    364
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Best Practice to Update Spaces in Revit MEP

    If you have to delete them all and recreate them whenever you get an update from an architect, stop creating spaces so early on in the process. Or get additional fees from the architect for making wholesale design changes that late in the game. Unless they're making extremely drastic changes, you shouldn't have to update more than a few spaces with each new iteration of the architect's model.

  3. #3
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2009-07
    Location
    KC
    Posts
    338
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Best Practice to Update Spaces in Revit MEP

    The existing spaces should find the new boundaries and repopulate the new rooms in the model update that the arch creates so you don't have to go deleting and remaking. You can run the space naming utility and get the space names correct and then use the space schedule to remove any redundant spaces or duplicates. If some rooms are missing just add them. Depends on how drastic the changes are to see which would work best...obviously if they've completely changed the model then starting fresh may be easier.

  4. #4
    I could stop if I wanted to mhartmann's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-11
    Location
    Saint Louis, MO
    Posts
    475
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Best Practice to Update Spaces in Revit MEP

    if the arch has moved the room to where your space's origin point (the center of the cross x) is out of the new outline (your space will be a floating box), you can drag that point to within the room's new boundary and it will fix it without re-creating

Similar Threads

  1. Spaces to cope with vertically irregular spaces better
    By Wish List System in forum Revit MEP - Wish List
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2015-12-05, 08:10 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2014-04-02, 05:30 PM
  3. Revit in a UK practice
    By change_is_constant in forum Revit - In Practice
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2010-03-18, 04:24 PM
  4. Best Practice > Revit to AutoCad
    By Munkholm in forum Revit - In Practice
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2009-03-31, 05:15 PM
  5. Revit Structure practice?
    By patricks in forum Revit Structure - General
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 2006-05-04, 01:47 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •