Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: What is the procedure for xref's in C3D?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2012-09
    Posts
    12
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default What is the procedure for xref's in C3D?

    I'm new to using C3D. In land desktop, for a road design project, typically I would have a topo drawing for existing conditions, a drawing with the road design linework, another drawing with proposed storm, water, sewer, and then maybe another drawing with other utilities that I others would design (such as gas, power, telephone). I would xref all the various drawings into "plotsheets" where I would have our titleblock.

    While working on the design, I would have the various drawing xref'd. With LDD being data being in a database, I could create alignments and then no matter what drawing I was in, I could draw linework based on STA/Offset or inquire a point to check on STA/OFFSET. With C3D, how do I draw linework based on STA/OFFSET unless I'm in the drawing with the alignment linework? Do I just need to include the alignments in any of the various drawings I want to be xref's? What changes in procedure should I be looking into for the switch to C3D?

  2. #2
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Location
    Central Oregon
    Posts
    591
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: What is the procedure for xref's in C3D?

    Data Shortcuts/Data References
    Create the first in the drawing with the original C3D object (alignment, profile, surface, pipe network) then you can add a Data Reference into any drawing you desire. When the object changes in the source drawing, the changes will get reflected in the other drawings when synchronized (at dwg open or sync inside the drawing when already open).

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2012-09
    Posts
    12
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: What is the procedure for xref's in C3D?

    Thanks. That helps. I quickly looked up xdrefs in the help file in c3D and they were talking about using MS Access. Do you have to use Access, or would excel work?

  4. #4
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Location
    Central Oregon
    Posts
    591
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: What is the procedure for xref's in C3D?

    To the best of my knowledge, Access is required.

Similar Threads

  1. cannot find procedure
    By sporty_red_g5 in forum AutoCAD Civil 3D - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2009-05-06, 07:23 PM
  2. Revit MEP Startup Procedure
    By nhorniman in forum Revit MEP - General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2009-03-17, 12:11 PM
  3. 2008 SCALE 1:100 xref xref xref xref- scale list issues
    By Apsis0215 in forum AutoCAD Customization
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2008-11-21, 08:17 PM
  4. Procédure DAO
    By CGM in forum Français - AutoCAD / AutoCAD LT - Général
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2006-10-11, 01:32 PM
  5. Site Development - Procedure
    By ford347 in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2005-05-14, 02:35 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •