Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: [2013] Linked structural model shows as wireframe

  1. #1
    AUGI Addict matt__w's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-06
    Location
    North Central CT
    Posts
    1,108
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default [2013] Linked structural model shows as wireframe

    I've got a simple project consisting of some mechanical vaults that was started in 2012 then upgraded to 2013. I have a structural model linked in (also started in 2012 and then upgraded to 2013). Things were fine at one point in the upgrade now all of a sudden the structural model is showing as wireframe in a 3D view. I have my view settings as follows>:
    Discipline: COORDINATION
    Visual Style: CONSISTENT COLORS
    Detail Level: FINE
    RVT Link: BY HOST VIEW

    My pipes are showing as expected with those settings but everything (with the exception of a few floor slabs) in the structural model is wireframe.

    Thoughts? Suggestions?

    Matt
    Last edited by mattw; 2012-11-19 at 02:23 PM.

  2. #2
    I could stop if I wanted to mhartmann's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-11
    Location
    Saint Louis, MO
    Posts
    474
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: [2013] Linked structural model shows as wireframe

    you might have to set the structural link to custom on the Links tab, and set it how you want it. when set to Host View, you're at their mercy if they change their view settings.
    mike

  3. #3
    AUGI Addict matt__w's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-06
    Location
    North Central CT
    Posts
    1,108
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: [2013] Linked structural model shows as wireframe

    I'm pretty sure I've already done that but I'll double-check and post back with results.

    Thanks.
    Matt

  4. #4
    All AUGI, all the time CADastrophe's Avatar
    Join Date
    2012-01
    Location
    Site of the next CADaclysm
    Posts
    813
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: [2013] Linked structural model shows as wireframe

    Quote Originally Posted by mattw View Post
    I'm pretty sure I've already done that but I'll double-check and post back with results.

    Thanks.
    Matt
    Search around a little bit because I think I've head of such a glitch that comes from upgrading a project from 2012 to 2013. I know I've seen this discussed in the Autodesk forums. Let me know if you can't find anything here, and I'll dig it up from over there. (I'm not sure, but the glitch may only involve Masking Regions and such...)
    Corey D.Please let the saying "The only stupid question is the one not asked" not be seen as a challenge to defy it.

  5. #5
    Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Join Date
    2011-10
    Posts
    1
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: [2013] Linked structural model shows as wireframe

    Quote Originally Posted by CADastrophe View Post
    Search around a little bit because I think I've head of such a glitch that comes from upgrading a project from 2012 to 2013. I know I've seen this discussed in the Autodesk forums. Let me know if you can't find anything here, and I'll dig it up from over there. (I'm not sure, but the glitch may only involve Masking Regions and such...)
    This is a pretty old thread so maybe no longer relevant, but anyway: I was battling with this same (or a very similar issue) then realised that to get the structure to show up as a structure in my 3D view and not just wireframe I just had to change my 3D view Discipline from Mechanical to Structural and it all shows up as a realistic 3D model.

    Hopefully I understood your question correctly and that's what you were after.

    If so, awesome, glad to help. If not, hopefully there's someone out there with a good tip for us.

Similar Threads

  1. 2014: Can't select levels in linked structural model
    By sjsl in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2014-01-23, 08:13 AM
  2. 2013 'analytical data' showing up when importing revit structural model into Navis 2013
    By markewbank435686 in forum NavisWorks - General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2013-10-29, 10:57 AM
  3. 2013: Transparent walls of linked structural model
    By matt__w in forum Revit MEP - General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2013-02-21, 08:24 PM
  4. linked structural model not showing in some views
    By CADMama in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2010-03-12, 05:43 PM
  5. RAC 2009 Linked Structural Model
    By azmz3 in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2009-06-22, 09:59 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •