Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Acad LT Won't Start, Maintenance also won't run, any ideas???

  1. #1
    Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Join Date
    2012-11
    Posts
    1
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Acad LT Won't Start, Maintenance also won't run, any ideas???

    Hello, Just all of a sudden one day LT 2008 won't start, nothing happens (running on MS Vista).
    Read many ideas on Support, seems to come down to Repair, or Uninstall and Reinstall.

    One suggestion was use Windows Add/Remove Programs. This starts Installation Wizard - Maintenance Mode. Then I selected Repair.

    The following error message comes up:
    The following problems were encountered which prevented AutoCAD LT 2008 from updating successfully:
    -Error opening installation log file. Verify that the specified log file location exists and that you can write to it.

    Click Finish to exit.

    SO my question is: what is this log file and where should it reside? Message does not give specific name of the log file. (Installation log)
    Is it just plain missing? Why?
    This seems to have happened after a Windows update....

    The only log file I could find was C:\Program Files\AutoCAD LT 2008\adlmlog

    One main problem with this is W/O Maintenance being able to run I can't do a Repair or normal Uninstall....

    Any and all ideas welcome.
    Thanks,
    JimP

  2. #2
    Certifiable AUGI Addict cadtag's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Cairo - no, not Illinois
    Posts
    4,761
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Acad LT Won't Start, Maintenance also won't run, any ideas???

    Option A, uninstall the LT 2008 application, following autodesk's 'clean uninstall' procedure from their web site, and re-install only after everything is scrubbed clean.

    Option B, since you are using an older version of LT, try the free Draftsight application. Probably better functionality/performance on Vista, IIRC 2008 was never supportedtested on anything after WinXP.

    But personally, I'd upgrade the OS to Win7 before doing any installs of anything, or doesngrade to XP if you really want to run 2008LT
    Real pirates wear silk suits & ties, and write EULAs
    The only thing more dangerous to the liberty of a free people than big government, is big business.

    Toward a Sustainable Water Future: Visions for 2050 http://ascelibrary.org/doi/book/10.1061/9780784412077

  3. #3
    I could stop if I wanted to pendean's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    228
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Acad LT Won't Start, Maintenance also won't run, any ideas???

    Windows Restore should have been the first fix: it may not be too late to do so, take it back to a week or month it all broke.
    Look up usage in Windows Help or Microsoft's website.
    --
    Dean Saadallah
    AutoCAD and LT User
    BLOG|TW|FB|PIN
    --

Similar Threads

  1. ACAD will not start
    By dtosh in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2010-03-26, 06:30 PM
  2. ACAD 2008 Start's Up in a Command
    By KENM.185781 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2008-06-23, 08:29 PM
  3. ACAD 2009 - Where to start?
    By SteveChestnut in forum CAD Management - General
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 2008-05-18, 04:44 PM
  4. Using VB6 to start Acad with profile
    By jawf in forum VBA/COM Interop
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2006-03-21, 06:00 AM
  5. Force ACAD to start without an open drawing?
    By nfuller in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2004-06-07, 02:48 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •