See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Pick Points Artifact

  1. #1
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2007-07
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    77
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Pick Points Artifact

    This is really silly, but I can't remember the command to turn on/off the little Pick Point artifact. It's one of those annoying commands that you turn on when a co-worker leaves their computer unlocked

    It's a little cross-hair or dot or something that shows where you picked last. I got a profile from a co-worker who likes this, but I find it annoying.

    Any help?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Certifiable AUGI Addict tedg's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    in the upper right corner
    Posts
    3,279
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: Pick Points Artifact

    Quote Originally Posted by magnusonzach View Post
    This is really silly, but I can't remember the command to turn on/off the little Pick Point artifact. It's one of those annoying commands that you turn on when a co-worker leaves their computer unlocked

    It's a little cross-hair or dot or something that shows where you picked last. I got a profile from a co-worker who likes this, but I find it annoying.

    Any help?

    Thanks.
    Do you mean blipmode?
    What AutoCAD are you using? I'm in 2012 and it doesnt work anymore (that I'm aware of).
    Ted
    ____________________________________________________________________ ________________
    Windows 10
    AutoCAD 2018 - REVIT 2019 - Inventor Professional 2017 (when I can)

  3. #3
    Certifiable AUGI Addict tedg's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    in the upper right corner
    Posts
    3,279
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Pick Points Artifact

    Yup, I looked in to it, BLIPMODE was removed in 2012, bummer.
    I actually have a lisp routine that uses this variable.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Ted
    ____________________________________________________________________ ________________
    Windows 10
    AutoCAD 2018 - REVIT 2019 - Inventor Professional 2017 (when I can)

  4. #4
    AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Posts
    2,095
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: Pick Points Artifact

    Gotta be careful with using some of those discontinued system variables in a read/operate/restore cycle. The read operation may pick up the default value, rather than failing to notice its deprecated, and restore that default value instead. With BLIPMODE you could actually end up "restoring it" and turning it on when the intention is to leave it off.
    If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
    Some say beauty is in the eye of the Beholder... perhaps so, but I've only seen the disintegration beam.
    Everyone else being wrong is not the same thing as being right.

  5. #5
    Certifiable AUGI Addict tedg's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    in the upper right corner
    Posts
    3,279
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Pick Points Artifact

    Quote Originally Posted by dgorsman View Post
    Gotta be careful with using some of those discontinued system variables in a read/operate/restore cycle. The read operation may pick up the default value, rather than failing to notice its deprecated, and restore that default value instead. With BLIPMODE you could actually end up "restoring it" and turning it on when the intention is to leave it off.
    My particular lisp is for drawing splines, not like the OOTB splines, but smooth polylines that can have a width on the fly.

    You pick the path free hand (using blips) and then it places the polyline and smooths it.
    And when finished, it turns blipmode off.

    It's an old one I've had since R12, don't use it much any more.
    It still sort of works (no blips) so you don't see your path.
    Ted
    ____________________________________________________________________ ________________
    Windows 10
    AutoCAD 2018 - REVIT 2019 - Inventor Professional 2017 (when I can)

  6. #6
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2007-07
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    77
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Pick Points Artifact

    yep... BLIPMODE, that was it. I am on 2012, but my co-worker is on 2011, and it seems to carry over with a restore cycle like dgorsman said.

    Thanks!

  7. #7
    AUGI Addict jpaulsen's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-04
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    2,020
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: Pick Points Artifact

    To execute .BLIPMODE in 2012 type a period before the command.
    Jeff Paulsen

  8. #8
    Certifiable AUGI Addict tedg's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    in the upper right corner
    Posts
    3,279
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Pick Points Artifact

    Quote Originally Posted by jpaulsen View Post
    To execute .BLIPMODE in 2012 type a period before the command.
    Sweet!
    Thanks, I should have tried that but I figured if it was removed, that wouldn't work either.

    I did try -blipmode, _blipmode.. everything but the "native" AutoCAD command!

    Ted
    ____________________________________________________________________ ________________
    Windows 10
    AutoCAD 2018 - REVIT 2019 - Inventor Professional 2017 (when I can)

Similar Threads

  1. Pick internal points
    By dwilliams150572 in forum Revit Structure - Wish List
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2017-04-29, 04:13 PM
  2. Better 3D pick points
    By Wish List System in forum Revit Structure - Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2012-06-23, 02:44 PM
  3. Pick plane by 3 points
    By revit.wishlist1942 in forum Revit Architecture - Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2009-11-03, 03:23 PM
  4. Fix the pick points in dimension display - bug?
    By kevin.bell.72378 in forum ACA Wish List
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2008-04-01, 06:44 PM
  5. Select Length of Box by using pick points
    By autocad.wishlist1734 in forum AutoCAD Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2007-11-28, 12:17 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •