See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Acad won't let you set XREF path to relative..why?

  1. #1
    Certifiable AUGI Addict tedg's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    in the upper right corner
    Posts
    3,200
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Unhappy Acad won't let you set XREF path to relative..why?

    Can't seem to find any reason why but..
    Sometimes when setting up drawings, or editing drawings and you attach an xref, and you check relative path, it won't let you do it.

    Does anyone know why?
    It's usually on a drawing that has an xref already, which may be part of it.

    But I think I've actually set up brand new drawings with xrefs, where I set the first two to relative and when attaching the third xref, it wouldn't let me select relative path.

    Any insight on what would cause this would be appreciated.

    Thanks
    Ted
    ____________________________________________________________________ ________________
    Windows 10
    AutoCAD 2018 - REVIT 2019 - Inventor Professional 2017 (when I can)

  2. #2
    Certifiable AUGI Addict cadtag's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Cairo - no, not Illinois
    Posts
    4,766
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Acad won't let you set XREF path to relative..why?

    I've noticed that in two situations. 1) the drawing has not yet been saved, so it doesn't have a path. 2). the reference is on a different drive letter, so 'relative' is not possible. either one apply?
    Real pirates wear silk suits & ties, and write EULAs
    The only thing more dangerous to the liberty of a free people than big government, is big business.

    Toward a Sustainable Water Future: Visions for 2050 http://ascelibrary.org/doi/book/10.1061/9780784412077

  3. #3
    All AUGI, all the time gfreddog's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-07
    Location
    Pequannock NJ US of A
    Posts
    641
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Acad won't let you set XREF path to relative..why?

    Usually the only time I run into that is if the drawing hasn't been saved in the last 5 min. I hit save and try again and it works.

    BTW in AutoCAD 2013 I recently noticed that while in Xref Manager if you right click on any of the Xref's files under the Path selection you can remove the path or make it relative. I think that is new

    Xref Paths.jpg
    George V. Fournier Jr., CTS
    Sr. Sales Engineer - Autodesk Product Design Suite Premium 2014
    2006 AUGI DAWG (7th) - NJ AUGI Camp
    Volunteer Firefighter since 1985 & Bagpiper Wanna-be
    With the freedom of expression comes great responsibility


  4. #4
    Super Moderator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,706
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Acad won't let you set XREF path to relative..why?

    I agree with gfreddog, I see this all the time. Do a qsave and it should work, assuming a relative path is technically possible.
    R.K. McSwain | CAD Panacea |

  5. #5
    Certifiable AUGI Addict tedg's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    in the upper right corner
    Posts
    3,200
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Acad won't let you set XREF path to relative..why?

    Thanks guys, I will try that next time I run into the problem.
    It could very well be a "not saved yet" or "not saved in the last 5 minutes" thing, because it's usually when I'm setting up a new drawing or editing a newly created drawing.

    I'll keep you posted.
    Ted
    ____________________________________________________________________ ________________
    Windows 10
    AutoCAD 2018 - REVIT 2019 - Inventor Professional 2017 (when I can)

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    2012-05
    Posts
    2
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: Acad won't let you set XREF path to relative..why?

    Aha! The drive name being different was my problem. I work off a remote server and I had fixed the drive name to be the same as when working locally but something funky happened and the name was coming up differently on my end... so once I sorted that out I could then update the xrefs and make them be relative paths.

Similar Threads

  1. 2009: Xref relative path
    By LanceMcHatton in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2011-07-26, 03:58 PM
  2. Change Xref from Full Path to Relative Path
    By ccowgill in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2009-05-27, 11:54 AM
  3. XREF: Absolute > Relative Path
    By stephen in forum VBA/COM Interop
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2008-10-30, 04:34 PM
  4. Relative Xref Path default
    By jmagarolas962356 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2008-10-01, 12:19 PM
  5. Relative path for xref with attributes
    By rlh in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2007-07-31, 09:42 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •