See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: wish: select a multi-line text and layer, color, dim style, text size, etc would be set

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2012-12
    Posts
    7
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default wish: select a multi-line text and layer, color, dim style, text size, etc would be set


    Description:
    Here's the issue: I'm working on drawings / details at different scales all in the same model space. When I have to note up a detail, for example, where maybe a multi-line text already exists, I select that line of text and then click on the button for "make object's layer current" (so that I'm on the right layer). Next I select the text style and set the correct text size, and then I have to change the dimension style to the right scale so I can get the right size leader. Next, I set the color from the color control. Now, I'm finally ready to start putting in my multi-line text.

    How Used: I would like a command that I guess would be basically similar to "match properties". I want to select a multi-line text and the layer, color, text size, text style, and dimension style are automatically updated to that line of text.

    Feature Affinity:

  2. #2
    Certified AUGI Addict jaberwok's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    0,0,0 The Origin
    Posts
    8,570
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: wish: select a multi-line text and layer, color, dim style, text size, etc would be set

    Not to denigrate the wish but could you not just copy the existing object and edit the copy?
    John B

    "You can't convince a believer of anything; for their belief is not based on evidence, it's based on a deep-seated need to believe." - Carl Sagan

  3. #3
    All AUGI, all the time clshade's Avatar
    Join Date
    2009-01
    Location
    B5
    Posts
    544
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: wish: select a multi-line text and layer, color, dim style, text size, etc would be set

    Not to pile on...
    Or create a Macro that sets all those features and calls the MLeader Command?
    Charles Shade AutoCAD LT 2014, Dynamic Blocks
    www.cshadedesign.com

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    2012-12
    Posts
    7
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: wish: select a multi-line text and layer, color, dim style, text size, etc would be set

    John, yes. I have done that too, but I guess for whatever reason in most cases it has worked out better to insert the text from scratch.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2012-07-04, 04:54 PM
  2. Dimension style text color not updating after AutoLisp script
    By thomas.glasgow in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 2007-07-17, 10:28 PM
  3. Convert single line text to multi line text?
    By civilguy in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2006-10-11, 11:37 PM
  4. Text mysteriously on Layer 0, can't select to delete
    By cadop.89229 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2006-10-03, 02:21 PM
  5. Using fields how to set up with multi. line text
    By pangell in forum AutoCAD Fields
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2005-06-09, 05:19 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •