Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Revit Server 2013 on Windows Server 2012

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2013-01
    Posts
    2
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Revit Server 2013 on Windows Server 2012

    Hello

    I've a Revit 2013 Server host successfully running on a Windows 2008R2 server in my main office and I now need to set up an accelerator server in a remote office.

    Unfortunately this is an Windows 2012 Server (iis 8) and undocumented in Wikihelp - I have also been told this architecture is unsupported by Autodesk.

    Does anyone on the forum have any experience in getting this to work?

    My experience so far is this:

    - all of the ASP/IIS pre-requisites can be satisfied in the 2012 server Add Roles environment.
    - RS2013 installs without any issue.
    - The accelerator then displays in the revitserveradmin2013 page with an Unavailable red cross next to it.
    - if I investigate the website in IIS and try to browse any of the .svc files (in content view mode) I get an HTTP 404.3 error. I had the same on the 2008R2 install and resolved it by using aspnet_regiis.exe -i for IIS 7.5. This is unavailable in IIS 8.
    - Average ping time between the sites is 25ms and there is a fully functional and open VPN

    I may need to install a 2008R2 VM but I'd rather not if I don't have to. Any help from other forum members appreciated.

    Liam

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    2013-01
    Posts
    2
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Revit Server 2013 on Windows Server 2012

    Dear AUGI forum,

    As usual writing the problem out has helped me to solve it. The key is getting ASP 4.5 registered in IIS 8. To do this there is an extra feature that needs adding in the Add Roles environment. It is HTTP activation and it is found under .NET Framework 4.5 features/WCF Services.

    Job done!

    L

  3. #3
    100 Club meng005's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-05
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    180
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Revit Server 2013 on Windows Server 2012

    Thank, Liam for the update! I will keep this noted.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    2006-05
    Location
    Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    13
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Revit Server 2013 on Windows Server 2012

    Hi,

    Noticed your post and have tried as you suggest on Windows Server 2012 but unfortunately i cannot save models from Revit 2013 to Revit Server 2013 on Windows Server 2012... any ideas as to what i could be missing???

    P.S - There are no errors when trying to browse any of the svc files

    P.P.S - I do appear to have .NET Framework 3.5 Features, .NET Extensibility 3.5 (Installed) and ASP.NET 3.5 (Installed) Could this be the issue?

    Regards,

    Duncan

  5. #5
    100 Club meng005's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-05
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    180
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Revit Server 2013 on Windows Server 2012

    What is the error message?

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    2006-05
    Location
    Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    13
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Revit Server 2013 on Windows Server 2012

    Operation could not be completed, please try again! Basically the file isn't saved!

    I've tried everything mentioned on the following link and it still didnt work... http://whatrevitwants.blogspot.co.uk...rver-2012.html

    I did manage to try Revit 2014 with Revit Server 2014 on the same Server as Revit Server 2013 and this worked perfectly!

    Regards,

    Duncan

  7. #7
    Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Join Date
    2013-03
    Posts
    1
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Revit Server 2013 on Windows Server 2012

    Quote Originally Posted by UKCADOPS View Post
    Operation could not be completed, please try again! Basically the file isn't saved!

    I've tried everything mentioned on the following link and it still didnt work...

    I did manage to try Revit 2014 with Revit Server 2014 on the same Server as Revit Server 2013 and this worked perfectly!

    Regards,

    Duncan

    Hi Duncan,

    What did you end up doing? I am facing the exact same issue at the moment, and am having hard time finding a solution. Your comment would be greatly appreciated!


    Chris

Similar Threads

  1. 2013: New to Revit Server 2013
    By rganter in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2013-09-03, 07:24 PM
  2. Revit Server 2013
    By nick.beaven in forum Revit - Worksharing/Worksets/Revit Server
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2012-10-24, 02:29 AM
  3. 2012: Is Revit Architecture Viewer 2012 incompatible with Revit Server 2012?
    By meng005 in forum Revit - Worksharing/Worksets/Revit Server
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2012-08-27, 08:45 PM
  4. Revit Server 2012 and 2013
    By MikeJarosz in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2012-08-10, 04:23 PM
  5. Windows Server 2003 server
    By arcadia_x27 in forum Networks
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2005-08-08, 02:28 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •