Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: New Folder from dialog

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2005-10
    Location
    Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    20
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Question New Folder from dialog

    I recently upgraded from LT 2010 to LT 2013 and I'm finding that the new folder via the button at the top right in the dialog creates a new folder, but it doesn't automatically take you into the editor box for renaming the folder. Is this new or a bug?

  2. #2
    All AUGI, all the time clshade's Avatar
    Join Date
    2009-01
    Location
    B5
    Posts
    544
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: New Folder from dialog

    Windows setting likely.
    Does not do so here but then again I've never used it before.
    Charles Shade AutoCAD LT 2014, Dynamic Blocks
    www.cshadedesign.com

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2005-10
    Location
    Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    20
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: New Folder from dialog

    Sorry about this late response. Windows explorer works correctly. The only place I notice the problem is from within AutoCAD.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    2005-10
    Location
    Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    20
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: New Folder from dialog

    It doesn't appear that this is a new problem. My question is why hasn't it been fixed if it's been happening since 2011+/-?

  5. #5
    Administrator Ed Jobe's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    Turlock, CA
    Posts
    5,744
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: New Folder from dialog

    I'm using Map, not LT, but I don't have a problem. Where did you get info that this is an ongoing issue? Have you reported it to subscription support?

    When you try to create a folder, does it happen if you're trying to create one in My Documents, or just a network location? Trying to see if its related to folder permissions.
    C:> ED WORKING....

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    2005-10
    Location
    Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    20
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: New Folder from dialog

    Source: http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCA...3362561/page/2

    It's not a network issue. I tried it both locally and on the network with the same result. I had reported the issue before I did the research. Best I can find is that it's being reported as an issue since Win Vista came out. It's likely a Windows/CAD conflict that hasn't been fixed. It doesn't happen anywhere else on my computer at this point.

  7. #7
    Administrator Ed Jobe's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    Turlock, CA
    Posts
    5,744
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: New Folder from dialog

    Thanks for the link. I wasn't aware that it was an issue. I've never used Vista or that icon. I always right+click. So its never been an issue for me. As to why it hasn't been fixed, its a matter of budgeting and priority. As a developer, I would rate it low priority since there is an alternate method readily available and as others noted, its not truly "broke". After all, it does what it says it does, which is create a new folder.
    C:> ED WORKING....

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    2005-10
    Location
    Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    20
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: New Folder from dialog

    Yea. I can work around it with no problem. It's just one of those things you wonder "why?".

  9. #9
    I could stop if I wanted to pendean's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    228
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: New Folder from dialog

    Since it works for some of us, and it does not for some others, I suspect there is more to it than a simple 'fix': problems are fixed more quickly if we all can trigger it at will, and gets less of a big-deal to someone if only some of us have it, and even less of a priority if a smaller group can trigger it.

    With a less than scientific in-depth search, the latter seems to be the case here sadly from what I can tell. Maybe in LT2014?
    --
    Dean Saadallah
    AutoCAD and LT User
    BLOG|TW|FB|PIN
    --

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 13
    Last Post: 2018-03-13, 12:52 AM
  2. File Multi Selection Dialog (and Folder Select)
    By peter in forum Bridging the Gap: LISP -> .NET -> LISP
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2014-02-18, 04:46 PM
  3. Folder Browser Dialog for LISP
    By peter in forum Bridging the Gap: LISP -> .NET -> LISP
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 2014-02-15, 03:09 AM
  4. Folder Dialog Option
    By bdthomas02 in forum VBA/COM Interop
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2008-07-22, 07:44 PM
  5. Open File Dialog Folder Addition
    By barathd in forum Revit Architecture - Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2005-02-07, 04:44 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •