Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Revit 2013 to navisworks Manage 2013

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2012-05
    Posts
    29
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Revit 2013 to navisworks Manage 2013

    Hi Everyone,
    Im new to Navis 2013 version which has the capability to import or read navite revit format.
    1. when I export the file using add in going to Navis some parts of revit file is missing.
    2. in order for me to get the whole project in Navis, i export it as dwfx file, and the whole project is there but my problem is when I export the clash file, and amending the clashes generated i export new copy of dwfx and run again the clash but before that I import the previous clash so that Navisworks will compare the report which is resolve and which is not but Navis not do that.
    3. if I export using add in with nwc format with number 2 problem export and import of clash detected it works perfectly but the problem I get it only limit my export into 2 link file, example 1 file is duct and I link another file say pipe and another link file is wall. when I export to navis using nwc it only pick 2 link either Duct and pipe or duct and wall. even if I change the setting into export entire project.
    my conclusion, when I export I used dwfx to get the whole 3d and check the clashes individually.
    I know there is a great approach on how to work with Revit 2013 to Navis 2013, if someone do this perfectly please share.
    thanks

  2. #2
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2012-06
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    51
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Revit 2013 to navisworks Manage 2013

    If i'm understanding correctly, you are actually not utilizing Navis' ability to read Revit native files. You do not need to export the Revit file to anything. Just open Navis, then append your revit file (the .rvt file itself). I personally have not done clashes using navis 2013 yet, so i'm not sure it will solve your problem, but that is how you utilize the ability to read native Revit files.

  3. #3
    I could stop if I wanted to brenehan's Avatar
    Join Date
    2007-02
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    226
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Revit 2013 to navisworks Manage 2013

    Hi mc_yhanika255306

    From my experience using Navisworks 2013 I would suggest the following:
    Create a dedicated view in Revit, and turn off/hide elements you do not want to clash in Navisworks.
    Then use the Add-in's export from Revit "Add-in - External Tools - Navisworks 2013" (ensure you deselect "linked files". Exporting linked files is a little buggy and it gives you the entire model). Do not use "section boxes" in the Revit view.
    Avoid using DWF files, they have a few issues and the entire set of data is not exported.

    If you look through this forum, you will see there are a few glitches in opening up Revit files directly from Navisworks.

    Hope that helps
    Brian
    Brian Renehan

    BIM Consultant
    Melbourne - Australia
    http://bimfix.blogspot.com

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    2012-05
    Posts
    29
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Revit 2013 to navisworks Manage 2013

    at Jhill554946, yes I know what you mean. but the problem is, it does not include the link files.

    at brenehan, thanks for the advice. I can now export all the files including the link even it is 3 or 4 link, but I got trouble with the clash as I mention to my original post I can run the clash and export as xml file for revision, once the clash is amended export it again to navisworks and try to import my previous clash, it will no longer read the xml file.

    from your experience using the software, are you doing it? i mean export the xml then later import it again?
    or just generate the clash and keep a record after amending run the clash again and check it manually to compare to your first trial clash test.

    thanks

  5. #5
    I could stop if I wanted to brenehan's Avatar
    Join Date
    2007-02
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    226
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Revit 2013 to navisworks Manage 2013

    Hi mc_yhanika255306
    I'm not quite sure how you are using the tool and you current workflow! What exactly are you exporting in the xml file and how are you trying to import it back again into Navisworks?
    All the data for clash detection should be able to be maintained within the nwf file.
    I would suggest creating a separate nwc for each authored model and appending them into Navisworks. Each time the Revit model is updated, it can be exported and overwrite old nwc file.
    Brian Renehan

    BIM Consultant
    Melbourne - Australia
    http://bimfix.blogspot.com

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    2012-05
    Posts
    29
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Revit 2013 to navisworks Manage 2013

    Navis.png

    Hi Brenehan,

    I have attach screen shots of navis, the xml file that I exporting and importing is the clash test.

    so your process is to export all the files seperate and append using single coordinates?

    thanks and regards

  7. #7
    AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Posts
    2,095
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Revit 2013 to navisworks Manage 2013

    Are you exporting the clash settings or the clash results? The latter is not intended to be re-imported into Navisworks, only other software.
    If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
    Some say beauty is in the eye of the Beholder... perhaps so, but I've only seen the disintegration beam.
    Everyone else being wrong is not the same thing as being right.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    2012-05
    Posts
    29
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Revit 2013 to navisworks Manage 2013

    yes im trying to export and import the clash result,

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    2012-08
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    16
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Revit 2013 to navisworks Manage 2013

    The Import/Export feature is for the import and export of clash settings only. The only way to export the clash results is to use the options in the Report tab in the Clash Detective. Clash results cannot be imported into Navisworks.

  10. #10
    I could stop if I wanted to brenehan's Avatar
    Join Date
    2007-02
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    226
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Revit 2013 to navisworks Manage 2013

    Hi mc_yhanika255306

    The only way to transfer clashes from one file to another is to link the clash file in using the "Merge" option. You could use this option to bring several different clash NWF files together to produce a master Clash Report.

    But as bwilliams711941 says. There is no way to export and then import clash reports. What is the reason you are trying to do this workflow?

    Cheers
    Brian Renehan

    BIM Consultant
    Melbourne - Australia
    http://bimfix.blogspot.com

Similar Threads

  1. 2013 Objects From Revit MEP 2013 Missing in Navis Manage 2013
    By MetalliCAD in forum NavisWorks - General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2013-03-05, 08:52 PM
  2. Revit 2013 Detail Views Showing up in Navisworks 2013
    By tfullerpipes in forum NavisWorks - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2013-01-30, 07:37 AM
  3. Navisworks Manage 2013 Swtichback feature and view graphics settings
    By psuba344467 in forum NavisWorks - General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2012-10-02, 06:16 PM
  4. Navisworks Manage 2013 Simulation Settings
    By mbeham in forum NavisWorks - General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2012-07-27, 12:45 PM
  5. walk and pan speed is slow in Navisworks Manage 2013
    By diesellam in forum NavisWorks - General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2012-06-13, 05:12 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •