See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: File Selection Program or Database for Non-CAD Use

I could stop if I wanted to CEHill's Avatar
    Login to Give a bone

Question File Selection Program or Database for Non-CAD Use

I am a software and programming novice but have a need...

It would include a sleek GUI (front end) with an icon-driven dialog box that would allow non-CAD technical staff to select a manufacuring-related document i.e. a process diagram, schematic, equipment specification doc, or even a 3D model.
    I am clueless on which type of more modern programming languages and/or software platform would provide this 'slick' front end.

This 'light' application would inititally support a local company with a user base of less than fifty technical users in a chemical processing plant.

The back end would necessarily be a database that would manage an electronic repository of the various documents - possibly MS Access 2010.
    I anticipate that most of these documents would be stored as PDF, DWF (for 3D models) and in image file file formats.

Login to Give a bone

Default Re: File Selection Program or Database for Non-CAD Use

That sounds like the description for an EDMS, Engineering Document Management System You could spend a couple million US$ writing a proprietary version, or license one that some has has already spent the money to develop. Adept, from Synergis Software would likely meet the requirements.

Login to Give a bone

I have explored those excellent options. We an excellent EDMS that is in use by another department but is frowned upon by my engineering manager.
    Mine would not be managing documents per se: no revision control, etc but would essentially be a much-needed search tool and file viewer inside a database and would be very limited in functionality and scope.

Would anyone have experience in developing a similar type of application?

Login to Give a bone