Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Contextual Ribbon Panels Not Updating Automatically

  1. #1
    Super Moderator dkoch's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-03
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    2,376
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Contextual Ribbon Panels Not Updating Automatically

    I have run into a problem with Revit Architecture 2012 [Build 20120126_0600(x64) Update Release 2] on my computer* which I first noticed yesterday. I have tried a repair install and also a clean uninstallation and reinstallation per TS16828836, and the problem persists.

    In brief, the contextual ribbon panels get “stuck”, lingering on after the command for which they assist has ended, and then block the contextual panels for subsequent commands or selections. I have found that I can manually force them to update by cycling the ribbon state (for example, minimizing to tabs and then back to full ribbon), but that quickly becomes tiresome. I did not see any Hotfixes in the Updates which address this issue. This had worked as expected in the past. The only change of which I am aware is that I did install Revit MEP 2012 a week or so ago. I uninstalled that when I uninstalled Revit Architecture and have not yet reinstalled it. The attached PDF includes a more detailed description of what I am seeing, along with screen shots of the related ribbon results.

    Has anyone else experienced this, and if so, did you find a solution?

    I am not certain if this is related, but I also find that I can no longer “tear off” a ribbon panel and have it “float” in the workspace. If I recall correctly, I did do that a few days ago, but then replaced the panel before closing Revit. I also cannot rerarrange the order of the panels.

    * - Dell Precision T3500
    Intel Xeon CPU W3550 @ 3.07GHz 3.07GHz
    12.0 GB installed memory
    Windows 7 Enterprise 64-bit Operating System
    Attached Files Attached Files
    David Koch

  2. #2
    AUGI Addict jsteinhauer's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-11
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    1,317
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Contextual Ribbon Panels Not Updating Automatically

    David,

    Has your computer been updated to .Net 4.5? I had a similar issue several months ago. You'll need to uninstall 4.5 and reinstall 4.0, if this is the case.

    Cheers,
    Jeff S.
    'When I am working on a problem, I never think about beauty but when I have finished, if the solution is not beautiful, I know it is wrong.' - R. Buckminster Fuller

  3. #3
    Super Moderator dkoch's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-03
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    2,376
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Contextual Ribbon Panels Not Updating Automatically

    Quote Originally Posted by jsteinhauer View Post
    David,

    Has your computer been updated to .Net 4.5? I had a similar issue several months ago. You'll need to uninstall 4.5 and reinstall 4.0, if this is the case.

    Cheers,
    Jeff S.
    As a matter of fact, it has. Looks like I got that when I installed DWG True View 2013. I wonder if going back to 4.0 will break DWG True View 2013. I guess I will find out tomorrow. Thanks for the tip, and I will report back with my results.
    David Koch

  4. #4
    Super Moderator dkoch's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-03
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    2,376
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Contextual Ribbon Panels Not Updating Automatically

    Uninstalling .Net 4.5 and installing .Net 4.0 fixed the issue in Revit Architecture 2012. Curiously, Revit Architecture 2010 and 2011 had worked as expected even when .Net 4.5 was installed. Now all three work, as well as ACA 2010, ACA 2013 and DWG True View 2013, which is what I believe added .Net 4.5. I hope this will not be an issue when we migrate to the 2014 products, since 4.5 installs as an upgrade to 4.0, so you cannot have both.

    Thanks again for the help!
    David Koch

Similar Threads

  1. 2013: Alignment Contextual Ribbon Tab
    By nbogan87352383 in forum AutoCAD Civil 3D - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2013-04-24, 08:06 PM
  2. 2012: Contextual ribbon tab not switch
    By nguyentruongphat113230390 in forum AutoCAD Customization
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2012-05-03, 08:28 AM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2009-07-31, 06:55 PM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2009-05-01, 03:25 PM
  5. Contextual Ribbon Panels not closing
    By craig.65586 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2008-09-30, 02:18 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •