Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: having trouble beginning in Inventor 2013

  1. #1
    100 Club tomcarver's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-11
    Location
    Cumming, GA
    Posts
    101
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default having trouble beginning in Inventor 2013

    Hello,
    I recently became unemployed so I'm trying to get some additional training by learning Inventor. I'm a 20 year user of acad through r2008. I have downloaded a student version of Inv 2013 pro but am having a hard time getting basic commands to work. For instance, when I try to pan using the wheel on the mouse, I get the pan cursor but nothing happens until i hit enter or right click. Also when moving around the different features and looking at sample drawings/models my system seems a bit laggy. Here are specs:
    Dell optiplex 990 core i5 3.1 ghz
    win 7 pro 64 bit
    8 gb ram
    Radeon HD 6350 w/512 mb ram

    Inventor 2013 Pro
    build 176 release 2013 SP1.1

    Other commands like rectangle and circle seem to work fine. Is it possible that I need more memory on the graphics card? Am I missing a setting for the mouse?

    Thanks,

    Tom G.
    Cumming, GA

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    2015-11
    Location
    Sanford, MI (work in St. Louis, MI)
    Posts
    36
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: having trouble beginning in Inventor 2013

    Here are the hardware requirements for IV 2013.

    http://usa.autodesk.com/autodesk-inv...-requirements/

    As far as the mouse goes, are you clicking and holding the scroll wheel and nothing happens? Because it should just start panning. You can also get the pan and zoom commands on the View Tab under Navigate.

  3. #3
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    641
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: having trouble beginning in Inventor 2013

    That hardware should work fine. Sounds like there is something wrong with your mouse or your install.
    Did you install with anti-virus and UAC turned off?
    Are you using a 3D Connexion device?

    Does Tools>Application Options>Hardware tab set on lowest setting make a difference?

    Also I don't understand the mouse action at all that you describe using the wheel.
    http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content..._Tutorials.htm
    AU 2007 Avatech Altogether Smarter Inventor On-line Challenge 1st Place
    Autodesk Inventor Certified Expert
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Williamsport, PA

Similar Threads

  1. 2015: Trouble with Flexible Assembly in Inventor
    By gretbrough in forum Inventor - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2014-10-09, 12:36 PM
  2. 2013: RVT 2013: Trouble Switching one piece of equipment for another.
    By cmannion394476 in forum Revit MEP - Families
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2013-06-27, 02:12 AM
  3. Inventor 2013
    By oliver.fruhner641705 in forum Deutsch - Inventor
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2012-08-21, 11:57 AM
  4. Whats new in Inventor 2013
    By mflayler in forum Inventor - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2012-05-08, 08:23 PM
  5. Trouble with Joints in Inventor Dynamic Simulation
    By p.r.greaves in forum Inventor - General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2010-03-03, 03:48 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •