See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: .Net code to import polylines from excel

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2009-03
    Posts
    5
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default .Net code to import polylines from excel

    Hi

    I have an excel file with a column containing polygon vertices like follows:

    Row 1 x-Cord1|y-Cord1 x-Cord2|y-Cord2 x-Cord3|y-Cord3....
    Row 2 x-Cord1|y-Cord1 x-Cord2|y-Cord2 x-Cord3|y-Cord3....
    Row 3 x-Cord1|y-Cord1 x-Cord2|y-Cord2 x-Cord3|y-Cord3....
    .........

    I am looking for a .Net code that can read each row cell and draw the polygons automatically in AutoCAD window. I am having a bout 100 rows (polygons) and hence I prefer that the code will display all polygons at once in AutoCAD window and not draw them one by one.

    I am already having Autolisp code to draw them one by one but I wish to have a .Net code to allow batch polygons drawing instead.

    Thanks a lot for any assistance

  2. #2
    Administrator BlackBox's Avatar
    Join Date
    2009-11
    Posts
    5,714
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: .Net code to import polylines from excel

    ... Duplicate thread at Autodesk Discussion Group... And another at CADTUtor here.
    "How we think determines what we do, and what we do determines what we get."

    Sincpac C3D ~ Autodesk Exchange Apps

    Computer Specs:
    Dell Precision 3660, Core i9-12900K 5.2GHz, 64GB DDR5 RAM, PCIe 4.0 M.2 SSD (RAID 0), 16GB NVIDIA RTX A4000

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2009-03
    Posts
    5
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: .Net code to import polylines from excel

    Yes right, I have duplicated the thread in another two forums with the aim to get faster response.

  4. #4
    AUGI Addict fixo's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-05
    Location
    Pietari, Venäjä
    Posts
    1,269
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: .Net code to import polylines from excel

    If the coordinates in Excel is located separately cell by cell
    then you may want to try code from this page
    http://www.acadnetwork.com/topicseen...60.html#msg560

  5. #5
    Administrator BlackBox's Avatar
    Join Date
    2009-11
    Posts
    5,714
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: .Net code to import polylines from excel

    Quote Originally Posted by gisvision View Post
    Yes right, I have duplicated the thread in another two forums with the aim to get faster response.
    That's great... For you... And only in theory.

    I posted that in an effort to be respectful of others' time... Which is often wasted when one posts duplicate threads in such a close time frame... So that others' do not needlessly post a suggestion that has already been provided you elsewhere, resulting both in wasted effort on their part (unknowingly), and your frustration due to not solving the issue (unwittingly).

    In reality... It can't be that pressing of a matter if you're relying on forums responses to help you learn / solve your issue, so perhaps it would be prudent to give it while before duplicating your future threads in multiple forums.

    Good luck.
    "How we think determines what we do, and what we do determines what we get."

    Sincpac C3D ~ Autodesk Exchange Apps

    Computer Specs:
    Dell Precision 3660, Core i9-12900K 5.2GHz, 64GB DDR5 RAM, PCIe 4.0 M.2 SSD (RAID 0), 16GB NVIDIA RTX A4000

  6. #6
    AUGI Addict fixo's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-05
    Location
    Pietari, Venäjä
    Posts
    1,269
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: .Net code to import polylines from excel

    Completely agreed

  7. #7
    Administrator BlackBox's Avatar
    Join Date
    2009-11
    Posts
    5,714
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: .Net code to import polylines from excel

    Quote Originally Posted by fixo View Post
    If the coordinates in Excel is located separately cell by cell
    then you may want to try code from this page
    http://www.acadnetwork.com/topicseen...60.html#msg560
    Very nice offering, Fixo (as usual)... That's why you're one of my heroes.

    Cheers
    "How we think determines what we do, and what we do determines what we get."

    Sincpac C3D ~ Autodesk Exchange Apps

    Computer Specs:
    Dell Precision 3660, Core i9-12900K 5.2GHz, 64GB DDR5 RAM, PCIe 4.0 M.2 SSD (RAID 0), 16GB NVIDIA RTX A4000

  8. #8
    AUGI Addict fixo's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-05
    Location
    Pietari, Venäjä
    Posts
    1,269
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: .Net code to import polylines from excel

    Thank you for the support,
    Many regards

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    2009-03
    Posts
    5
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: .Net code to import polylines from excel

    Thanks BlackBox for your important note, I really appreciate what you said. Such is quite useful for junior forum users like me to realize.

    Fixo, wonderful reply hitting almost what I was looking for. I will try to adjust it for the data I am havng. In the data I am having, polyline coordinates are stored on the same cell. Attached is an example of the data
    Attached Files Attached Files

  10. #10
    AUGI Addict fixo's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-05
    Location
    Pietari, Venäjä
    Posts
    1,269
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: .Net code to import polylines from excel

    I'm sorry, no, I gave you a fish, prepare it yourself, that's not a place where there is always
    a ready-made meals, one also has to work himself, then get the desired result,
    you may want to parse data per every cell,
    just a hint

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Polylines dimensions export to excel
    By milivojekrstanovic in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 46
    Last Post: 2017-08-02, 11:07 PM
  2. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2013-10-16, 05:39 PM
  3. Extract area of polylines to excel
    By autocad.wishlist1734 in forum AutoCAD Wish List
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2013-01-06, 06:04 AM
  4. AU 2005 VBA with Excel Sample Code
    By wpeacock in forum VBA/COM Interop
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2007-03-12, 10:34 AM
  5. How to Code an Excel Autosave
    By PellaCAD in forum VBA/COM Interop
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2006-04-19, 05:38 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •