Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: install both Autodesk Product Design Suite Standard 2013 & Architecture 2011

  1. #1
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2010-06
    Posts
    57
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Question install both Autodesk Product Design Suite Standard 2013 & Architecture 2011

    Hi I'm hoping someone can give me some guidance/answers to this.

    I am currently using Autodesk Product Design Suite Standard 2013. I have also been asked to support one of our other major projects who have very strict cad standards.

    The requirement they have is that we useAutocad Architecture 2011. I can ( I think) download that from our central website. What I need to try & understand is what major headaches am I going to give myself if I have both sets of software loaded? I know I can only use one at any given time but am I going to get any problems you Guys know about if I open one & then the other etc.

    Just wondering about both software & licence conflicts. We use a global licence so the software just grabs one if available.

    Thanks for any advice help in adavance.

  2. #2
    Geospatial Moderator Jmurphy's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    TN/KY Area
    Posts
    1,640
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: install both Autodesk Product Design Suite Standard 2013 & Architecture 2011

    You should have no problems as long as you keep each dwg/project in its correct version. Side by side installs does work, when I was doing support with a VAR I had a number of different versions and apps installed. Just make sure you open the application then open the dwgs and don't use windows explorer to open the files.
    J. Murphy
    AKA
    Murph
    The former AutoCAD MAP3D Power User

  3. #3
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2010-06
    Posts
    57
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: install both Autodesk Product Design Suite Standard 2013 & Architecture 2011

    Thank you
    I thought I should be able to but wanted to be aware of any potential problems.
    I will have to remember what you said about opening the programme then the drawing though as it's so easy to open from explorer!

    Many thanks again for your input

  4. #4
    Mod / Salary / SM Wanderer's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    5,313
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: install both Autodesk Product Design Suite Standard 2013 & Architecture 2011

    Quote Originally Posted by lesleys View Post
    Thank you
    I thought I should be able to but wanted to be aware of any potential problems.
    I will have to remember what you said about opening the programme then the drawing though as it's so easy to open from explorer!

    Many thanks again for your input
    Heh, I'm an explorer fan myself, too, I understand.

    I've typically got three or four versions installed at once, I can't remember having a problem with it. Currently, it's AutoCAD MEP 2011-2013 here and 2011-2014 at home, and no issues (hmm, that tells me it's time to upgrade pc's in both places! lol).
    Melanie Stone
    @MistresDorkness

    ARCHIBUS, FMS/FMInteract and AutoCAD Expert (I use Revit and Tririga, too)
    Technical Editor
    not all those who wander are lost

  5. #5
    Certified AUGI Addict jaberwok's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    0,0,0 The Origin
    Posts
    8,569
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: install both Autodesk Product Design Suite Standard 2013 & Architecture 2011

    If you (anyone) must use explorer to open files, remember that, when there is no acad-based application open, the LAST-CLOSED version will be the default.
    John B

    "You can't convince a believer of anything; for their belief is not based on evidence, it's based on a deep-seated need to believe." - Carl Sagan

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2015-09-10, 07:05 PM
  2. AB220-4: Beyond Massing: Conceptual Design Tools in Autodesk® Revit® Architecture 2011
    By Autodesk University in forum Architecture and Building Design
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2015-08-07, 03:48 PM
  3. 2013: Issues re-installing Product Design Suite 2013
    By allenjl in forum Inventor - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2013-07-18, 09:09 AM
  4. Inventor Product Design Suite Premium 2013
    By jimmy.long in forum CAD Management - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2013-06-24, 03:16 PM
  5. Revit 2013 (Design Suite) VS. Revit Architecture
    By Revitaoist in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2012-05-24, 11:15 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •