Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Multiple window autocad on multiple monitors

  1. #1
    Wish List Administration
    Join Date
    2011-08
    Posts
    4,581

    Default Multiple window autocad on multiple monitors

    Summary: autocad to have multiple separated windows so that you can have a window open on one monitor in paper space and another windows on the other monitor in model space. Each space will update and you can work between different windows instantly. You can move windows around to suit your drawing style.

    Description: Autocad to have multiple separated windows so that you can have a window open on one monitor in paper space and another windows on the other monitor in model space. Each space will update and you can work between different windows instantly. You can move windows around to suit your drawing style and possibly remove the restriction of having small vertical or horizontal windows in just one model space locked in the autocad window.

    Product and Feature: AutoCAD - Deployment

    Submitted By: stephen gamble on 05/17/2013


  2. #2
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2013-03
    Location
    Can you say DERECHO, Iowa
    Posts
    66

    Default Re: Multiple window autocad on multiple monitors

    Quote Originally Posted by Wish List System View Post
    Summary: autocad to have multiple separated windows so that you can have a window open on one monitor in paper space and another windows on the other monitor in model space. Each space will update and you can work between different windows instantly. You can move windows around to suit your drawing style.

    Description: Autocad to have multiple separated windows so that you can have a window open on one monitor in paper space and another windows on the other monitor in model space. Each space will update and you can work between different windows instantly. You can move windows around to suit your drawing style and possibly remove the restriction of having small vertical or horizontal windows in just one model space locked in the autocad window.

    Product and Feature: AutoCAD - Deployment

    Submitted By: stephen gamble on 05/17/2013
    This is easy enough if you use viewports and just lock them. I know it's not the actual thing you are looking for, but it's something that works as is.

  3. #3
    Certified AUGI Addict jaberwok's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    0,0,0 The Origin
    Posts
    8,570

    Default Re: Multiple window autocad on multiple monitors

    I have to assume that the OP wants both windows to be viewing the same file.
    If not, there is no reason not to run two sessions, one on each monitor.
    John B

    "You can't convince a believer of anything; for their belief is not based on evidence, it's based on a deep-seated need to believe." - Carl Sagan

  4. #4
    Certified AUGI Addict jaberwok's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    0,0,0 The Origin
    Posts
    8,570

    Default Re: Multiple window autocad on multiple monitors

    Just for the fun of it - and probably of no real use - here is acad spread across two monitors with the same file opened four times.
    Of course only the first instance can usefully be modified (but the others can be reloaded after a save of the first).

    acadx2.png

    [ignore the nvidia notice - it's temporary]
    John B

    "You can't convince a believer of anything; for their belief is not based on evidence, it's based on a deep-seated need to believe." - Carl Sagan

  5. #5
    AUGI Addict cdatechguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-10
    Location
    CdA, ID
    Posts
    1,533

    Default Re: Multiple window autocad on multiple monitors

    So basically the OP wants AutoCAD to do what Revit can do...? That's a change. Since AutoCAD is really a 2D program (Yes, I know it does 3D too) it focuses on one view at a time. But if I was still using AutoCAD it might be nice to have one Layout open and another layout open side by side instead of clicking between the two.
    Michael "MP" Patrick
    "I only drink :coffee: until it's acceptable to drink or :whiskey: or :wine:"

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    2007-07
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: Multiple window autocad on multiple monitors

    I have long missed this feature from Microstation where I could have multiple view open and total inter-working i.e. one view showing overall project, able to zoom in to a specific areas with different views, then able to start an entity in one detail and end it in the other detail views.

  7. #7
    Certified AUGI Addict jaberwok's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    0,0,0 The Origin
    Posts
    8,570

    Default Re: Multiple window autocad on multiple monitors

    Quote Originally Posted by mtmansam View Post
    I have long missed this feature from Microstation where I could have multiple view open and total inter-working i.e. one view showing overall project, able to zoom in to a specific areas with different views, then able to start an entity in one detail and end it in the other detail views.
    Are you saying you can't do this in AutoCAD ?
    John B

    "You can't convince a believer of anything; for their belief is not based on evidence, it's based on a deep-seated need to believe." - Carl Sagan

  8. #8
    Certifiable AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2001-03
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL
    Posts
    3,374

    Default Re: Multiple window autocad on multiple monitors

    Quote Originally Posted by mtmansam View Post
    I have long missed this feature from Microstation where I could have multiple view open and total inter-working i.e. one view showing overall project, able to zoom in to a specific areas with different views, then able to start an entity in one detail and end it in the other detail views.
    AutoCAD's been able to do that as long as I've been using it, 20 years now.
    Tom Beauford P.S.M. - Civil 2020 on Windows 10 Enterprise
    Design Analysis - Leon County Public Works/Engineering Wrap [CODE] tags around selected text
    2280 Miccosukee Rd. Tallahassee, FL 32308-5310
    Ph# (850)606-1516 Home Page

  9. #9
    AUGI Addict cdatechguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-10
    Location
    CdA, ID
    Posts
    1,533

    Default Re: Multiple window autocad on multiple monitors

    Quote Originally Posted by mtmansam View Post
    I have long missed this feature from Microstation where I could have multiple view open and total inter-working i.e. one view showing overall project, able to zoom in to a specific areas with different views, then able to start an entity in one detail and end it in the other detail views.
    Ah....yeah, forgot that this was possible....

    Click the "-" in the top left hand corner of the window....then select "Viewport Configuration List"...make your selection of how many views you want.
    Michael "MP" Patrick
    "I only drink :coffee: until it's acceptable to drink or :whiskey: or :wine:"

  10. #10
    Certifiable AUGI Addict cadtag's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Cairo - no, not Illinois
    Posts
    4,842

    Default Re: Multiple window autocad on multiple monitors

    Well, in uStn you can do that with child windows - resizable, movable, orderable (eg back to front). thnink of having 8 model space vports, each in their own window that's independently controllable each showing a separate view of the same open file - whether zoomed in tightly, isometric views, or overall. Or both Layout1, 2 & 3 open and visible concurrently.

    There I times that would be incredibly handly - being able to work on both ends of a 14 mile alignment at the same time, and MOVing or COPYing between child windows w/o using the Windows clipboard and getting the temp blocks.

    Other times the visual clutter would just get to be too much.
    Real pirates wear silk suits & ties, and write EULAs
    The only thing more dangerous to the liberty of a free people than big government, is big business.

    Toward a Sustainable Water Future: Visions for 2050 http://ascelibrary.org/doi/book/10.1061/9780784412077

Similar Threads

  1. Pop out Tabs for Multiple Monitors
    By Wish List System in forum ACA Wish List
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2017-04-15, 04:35 PM
  2. Views to Multiple Monitors
    By zanzibarbob7 in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2012-05-15, 02:14 PM
  3. 2009 with multiple monitors
    By dzatto in forum ACA General
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 2008-06-02, 01:52 PM
  4. Multiple, Multiple Monitors...
    By stusic in forum DV - The 3rd Dimension
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 2007-08-16, 02:07 PM
  5. Multiple Monitors
    By ToddVB in forum Revit Architecture - Wish List
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2005-09-01, 12:56 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •