Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Multiple window autocad on multiple monitors

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Wish List Administration
    Join Date
    2011-08
    Posts
    4,581

    Default Multiple window autocad on multiple monitors

    Summary: autocad to have multiple separated windows so that you can have a window open on one monitor in paper space and another windows on the other monitor in model space. Each space will update and you can work between different windows instantly. You can move windows around to suit your drawing style.

    Description: Autocad to have multiple separated windows so that you can have a window open on one monitor in paper space and another windows on the other monitor in model space. Each space will update and you can work between different windows instantly. You can move windows around to suit your drawing style and possibly remove the restriction of having small vertical or horizontal windows in just one model space locked in the autocad window.

    Product and Feature: AutoCAD - Deployment

    Submitted By: stephen gamble on 05/17/2013


  2. #2
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2013-03
    Location
    Can you say DERECHO, Iowa
    Posts
    66

    Default Re: Multiple window autocad on multiple monitors

    Quote Originally Posted by Wish List System View Post
    Summary: autocad to have multiple separated windows so that you can have a window open on one monitor in paper space and another windows on the other monitor in model space. Each space will update and you can work between different windows instantly. You can move windows around to suit your drawing style.

    Description: Autocad to have multiple separated windows so that you can have a window open on one monitor in paper space and another windows on the other monitor in model space. Each space will update and you can work between different windows instantly. You can move windows around to suit your drawing style and possibly remove the restriction of having small vertical or horizontal windows in just one model space locked in the autocad window.

    Product and Feature: AutoCAD - Deployment

    Submitted By: stephen gamble on 05/17/2013
    This is easy enough if you use viewports and just lock them. I know it's not the actual thing you are looking for, but it's something that works as is.

  3. #3
    Certified AUGI Addict jaberwok's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    0,0,0 The Origin
    Posts
    8,570

    Default Re: Multiple window autocad on multiple monitors

    I have to assume that the OP wants both windows to be viewing the same file.
    If not, there is no reason not to run two sessions, one on each monitor.
    John B

    "You can't convince a believer of anything; for their belief is not based on evidence, it's based on a deep-seated need to believe." - Carl Sagan

  4. #4
    Certified AUGI Addict jaberwok's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    0,0,0 The Origin
    Posts
    8,570

    Default Re: Multiple window autocad on multiple monitors

    Just for the fun of it - and probably of no real use - here is acad spread across two monitors with the same file opened four times.
    Of course only the first instance can usefully be modified (but the others can be reloaded after a save of the first).

    acadx2.png

    [ignore the nvidia notice - it's temporary]
    John B

    "You can't convince a believer of anything; for their belief is not based on evidence, it's based on a deep-seated need to believe." - Carl Sagan

  5. #5
    AUGI Addict cdatechguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-10
    Location
    CdA, ID
    Posts
    1,533

    Default Re: Multiple window autocad on multiple monitors

    So basically the OP wants AutoCAD to do what Revit can do...? That's a change. Since AutoCAD is really a 2D program (Yes, I know it does 3D too) it focuses on one view at a time. But if I was still using AutoCAD it might be nice to have one Layout open and another layout open side by side instead of clicking between the two.
    Michael "MP" Patrick
    "I only drink :coffee: until it's acceptable to drink or :whiskey: or :wine:"

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    2007-07
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: Multiple window autocad on multiple monitors

    I have long missed this feature from Microstation where I could have multiple view open and total inter-working i.e. one view showing overall project, able to zoom in to a specific areas with different views, then able to start an entity in one detail and end it in the other detail views.

Similar Threads

  1. Pop out Tabs for Multiple Monitors
    By Wish List System in forum ACA Wish List
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2017-04-15, 04:35 PM
  2. Views to Multiple Monitors
    By zanzibarbob7 in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2012-05-15, 02:14 PM
  3. 2009 with multiple monitors
    By dzatto in forum ACA General
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 2008-06-02, 01:52 PM
  4. Multiple, Multiple Monitors...
    By stusic in forum DV - The 3rd Dimension
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 2007-08-16, 02:07 PM
  5. Multiple Monitors
    By ToddVB in forum Revit Architecture - Wish List
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2005-09-01, 12:56 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •