Thread: Completed Dissertation on BIM and Collaboration

Login to Give a bone

Default Completed Dissertation on BIM and Collaboration

Hi guys, been a while since I have been active in AUGI. Hope everyone is well.

I thought that I might share with you a little piece of research that I carried out over the last two years in relation to coordination and collaboration between multiple disciplines in construction. In the 1990s I studied as a student of architecture and later worked as a structural draughtsman and ended up doing a lot of design coordinator and project management inside of a Design Build contracting firm in Ireland. The recent economic downturn saw me turn back to study again, and this dissertation is part of the products of that work.

http://www.scribd.com/doc/135072288/...rmation-Models

I wrote in with guys like the AUGI members in mind, and attempted to look at some of the best cutting edge research from around the world, into the whole BIM thing and what it will mean in the future. The subject of my course between 2010 and 2013 was in cost control and quantities estimation in construction (Quantity Surveying it is called in Britain and Ireland). I intentionally focussed in on this area of study, because it of all the aspects about construction management, the financial and legal aspects were those which I understood the least. So hopefully, in this dissertation work I am sharing with you, you will come across multiple aspects of BIM, to do with financial, legal and design.