Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: AutoCAD hangs when selecting the Hatch Tool?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2011-02
    Location
    Southampton NY
    Posts
    7
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Exclamation AutoCAD hangs when selecting the Hatch Tool?

    I have not found this with any other tool. But when I select the Hatch Tool AutoCAD hesitates for about 10 long seconds. Once it's finished it functions fine, but everytime I select, either by selecting the button, choosing from the menu, or right clicking for "last used tool" it hesitates.

    Thanks for any ideas.

    - J

  2. #2
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2013-03
    Location
    Can you say DERECHO, Iowa
    Posts
    66
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: AutoCAD hangs when selecting the Hatch Tool?

    Quote Originally Posted by Statboy View Post
    I have not found this with any other tool. But when I select the Hatch Tool AutoCAD hesitates for about 10 long seconds. Once it's finished it functions fine, but everytime I select, either by selecting the button, choosing from the menu, or right clicking for "last used tool" it hesitates.

    Thanks for any ideas.

    - J
    Are you working remotely or perhaps on a different server than you used to be?

  3. #3
    Administrator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,802
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: AutoCAD hangs when selecting the Hatch Tool?

    Quote Originally Posted by Statboy View Post
    I have not found this with any other tool. But when I select the Hatch Tool AutoCAD hesitates for about 10 long seconds. Once it's finished it functions fine, but everytime I select, either by selecting the button, choosing from the menu, or right clicking for "last used tool" it hesitates.

    Thanks for any ideas.

    - J
    It's instantly and constantly trying to find something to hatch when you launch the command. So depending on the complexity of the drawing, it could even appear to lock up AutoCAD (and in same cases, may do it)
    (Try it in a new, empty drawing, it should be pretty fast)

    Personally, I set HPDLGMODE to 1 which makes AutoCAD revert to the old method of displaying the dialog box first.
    R.K. McSwain | CAD Panacea |

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    2011-02
    Location
    Southampton NY
    Posts
    7
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: AutoCAD hangs when selecting the Hatch Tool?

    No, Same server, The files are located on the server, the program is loaded on the workstation. All files are in one building.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    2011-02
    Location
    Southampton NY
    Posts
    7
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: AutoCAD hangs when selecting the Hatch Tool?

    Quote Originally Posted by rkmcswain View Post
    It's instantly and constantly trying to find something to hatch when you launch the command. So depending on the complexity of the drawing, it could even appear to lock up AutoCAD (and in same cases, may do it)
    (Try it in a new, empty drawing, it should be pretty fast)

    Personally, I set HPDLGMODE to 1 which makes AutoCAD revert to the old method of displaying the dialog box first.
    Thanks, rkmcswain, It appears it might be a "particular" file issue. It functions very fast in a "new" file. I will try the HPDLGMODE.

    Thanks for your help.

    - J

Similar Threads

  1. Hatch Multiple Areas with Tool Pallette Hatch
    By autocad.wishlist1734 in forum AutoCAD Wish List
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2013-01-16, 04:51 AM
  2. hatch by selecting boundary points
    By ccowgill in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2009-02-27, 12:38 PM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2006-08-31, 06:43 AM
  4. Selecting Associative Hatch also selects Hatch Boundary
    By gadjet in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2006-08-11, 07:14 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •