Thread: Joints for low subdivision polygons

Login to Give a bone

Default Joints for low subdivision polygons

I am pretty new to maya, i've been using it for about a year, and honestly, i am not too great at it. But i have encountered an issue. Lets say i have a rectangular prism with only one subdivision going down the width. When i make a joint and an ik handle and i move it, one of the ends stays how i want it, while the other end shrinks. How do i make it so that it stays sharp, but nothing shrinks. If possible
    Attached Images Attached Images

Login to Give a bone

Default Re: Joints for low subdivision polygons

Welcome to AUGI, and congrats on your first post!

It sounds as though the placement of the subject ik handle/joint is deforming the prism geometry... Perhaps moving the placement of the ik handle/joint beyond the limits of the prism geometry will help.

Hope this helps (HTH).
    "How we think determines what we do, and what we do determines what we get."

Sincpac C3D ~ Autodesk Exchange Apps

Computer Specs:
    Dell Precision 3660, Core i9-12900K 5.2GHz, 64GB DDR5 RAM, PCIe 4.0 M.2 SSD (RAID 0), 16GB NVIDIA RTX A4000

Login to Give a bone

I don't understand. I am new to maya mabye 6 months. Also to add i am 13, but you know i want to start early. And, If you could specify how to do some of the things you stated that would be great.

Login to Give a bone

Wow... Only 13? Maya is an expensive application; your family must really love you to have purchased you a fully licensed copy so young.