Thread: Corrupt AutoCAD dwgs

Login to Give a bone

Angry Corrupt AutoCAD dwgs

Hello everyone,
    My name is Greg and I work for a large company based in Manchester.

This is my first time in one of these forums and I have had to come in because of a very annoying problem with some .DWG files.

I have Architectural desktop 2004 and when I go to "file, open" and select the offending files I get a preview in the preview window but the file will not open.

I have tried inserting the file as a block and also as an Xref but to no avail,

I have also tried to view them in volo view DWF viewer but they just refuse to oipen.

I have attached the files and hope to the Lord somebody in here can help me.
    Attached Files Attached Files

Login to Give a bone

Default Re: Corrupt AutoCAD dwgs

Hi Greg

Please not I have moved this thread from the ASK the BOD Forum to this one as I feel this particular Forum is a more appropriate place for such a topic.

Thanks, Mike

Forum Moderator

Login to Give a bone

Greg,
    I have tried without succes to recover your drawings, they appear to be too damaged to salvage, The AutoCAD recover command when run allows the drawings to be opened but all geometry in them is lost when this process is used. My only other suggestion is to try opening the drawings in Adobe Illustrator (which will read AutoCAD Drawings) and see if the geometry can be recovered that way. Ive used this method on a couple of occasions and its worked, but theres no guarantees.

Login to Give a bone

Quote Originally Posted by arcadia_x27
    Greg,