Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Converting AutoCAD .pat file from Imperial to Metric

  1. #1
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2009-09
    Posts
    245
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Converting AutoCAD .pat file from Imperial to Metric

    Maybe I'm in the wrong forum for this but I need to create some filled regions in Revit. I'm using the Autocad .pat files to copy and paste them into my Revit pattern file. I'm working with a firm in the UK and I have a hatch pat file that is in inches. Is there a way to quickly convert this to mm without having to painfully convert each value?

  2. #2
    Revit Forum Manager Steve_Stafford's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    7,567
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Converting AutoCAD .pat file from Imperial to Metric

    You can just add a declaration that the pattern is a model or drafting pattern to the .PAT file, it looks like this:

    ;%TYPE=MODEL
    ;%TYPE=DRAFTING

    Then you can import the pattern into a new fill pattern, using the fill pattern dialog. It will give you the opportunity to scale it there. It may take a little trial an error. If you guess wrong, you just delete the pattern, start again.

    Click for MORE INFO

  3. #3
    I could stop if I wanted to hugh.69031's Avatar
    Join Date
    2016-01
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    360
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Converting AutoCAD .pat file from Imperial to Metric

    Read the introductory comments in the standard file "revit.pat" that comes with every Revit install where you will see a UNITS parameter controls the dimensions used within the .pat file as either INCHES or MM. INCHES is the default and need not be specified so you will not need to do anything to ensure the patterns are loaded to Revit ready to work with projects measured in either imperial or metric units as Revit keeps all lengths in feet internally regardless and manages the arithmetical conversion for you. However had your AutoCAD .pat file been based in any other unit except inches or mm you would have to visit Excel, a desk calculator ... or HatchKit.

    tl;dr - load your pattern as is, it should just work.

    Hugh Adamson
    www.hatchkit.com.au

Similar Threads

  1. Converting a Survey from Metric to Imperial Units
    By marble in forum AutoCAD Civil 3D - Survey
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2011-11-22, 02:11 PM
  2. Converting Metric to Imperial DWG
    By spatterson in forum AutoCAD Civil 3D - Survey
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2010-10-05, 05:34 PM
  3. Converting file from IMPERIAL to METRIC
    By Openwheeler in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2008-07-18, 01:06 PM
  4. Converting Imperial to Metric
    By jbrazier in forum Revit Structure - Families
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2007-09-27, 08:05 PM
  5. Converting Downloads from imperial to metric
    By Kelvin in forum Revit Architecture - Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2004-01-09, 08:00 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •