Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: A Revit Architect re-using Revit Structural objects: is this really possible

Login to Give a bone

Default A Revit Architect re-using Revit Structural objects: is this really possible

Hi,

How do Revit architects re-use the structural engineers Revit model?

More specifically, do you re-use the .rvt objects that the engineer creates (linking etc), then use face-based architectural families to apply surfaces to structural floors, wall and columns - or not?
    I'm an ACAD veteran, so the thought of re-modelling what the engineer has already modeled is not so appealing!

I suspect the problem is in the layers in compound objects. Simply put, the engineers wall is 'inside' my wall, but Revit doesn't really recognize this parametrically through the linking process (unless I use face-based families right?)

Thanks in advance!
    Dave

Login to Give a bone

Default Re: A Revit Architect re-using Revit Structural objects: is this really possible

I pretty much use the above-grade structure only from the RST file, and nothing else. Reason being is that things change too often, and I don't want to wait on my structural guy to fix his model when an exterior wall in my model has to move, or a recessed floor area or equipment pit, etc. I model the floor the way it needs to be, and then he matches mine and adds the appropriate footings, piers, etc.

Same with plumbing, though I do use the engineer's lights and HVAC equipment. Plumbing fixtures too often need to move, and so I just put them in my model and they match mine.

Login to Give a bone

Default Re: A Revit Architect re-using Revit Structural objects: is this really possible

Hi, thanks for the super quick reply.