Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Data Links

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2015-09
    Posts
    21
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Data Links

    How do I write back added information from AutoCAD to Excel? I make changes to my table in CAD (originally linked from Excel) then try to "Write Data Links to External Source".
    The message I receive is, "1 data link(s) do not allow their data to be wriiten out. 0 data link(s) written out succesfully."
    Is the fix in AutoCAD or in my Excel file?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,706
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Data Links

    Quote Originally Posted by rgomez.100934 View Post
    How do I write back added information from AutoCAD to Excel? I make changes to my table in CAD (originally linked from Excel) then try to "Write Data Links to External Source".
    The message I receive is, "1 data link(s) do not allow their data to be wriiten out. 0 data link(s) written out succesfully."
    Is the fix in AutoCAD or in my Excel file?
    In AutoCAD, edit your datalink and enable writing back to source file. See image below.
    datalink.jpg
    R.K. McSwain | CAD Panacea |

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2015-09
    Posts
    21
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Data Links

    Ah! My problem was that I did not see the fly-out arrow at the lower right in that datalink dialog.

    1. enter "datalink" to open Data Link Manager
    2. rt-click on your file and select "edit"
    3. expand the fly-out and then select "Allow writing to source file"

    Thanks!
    Attached Images Attached Images

  4. #4
    Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Join Date
    2009-11
    Posts
    1
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Data Links

    I'm in the same bind and my "Allow writting to source file" is selected. Funny enough this whole thing was working before Christmas and after coming back from the holiday, without having anybody touching anything, its gone. It's now like that with all the tests I'm doing. New files or old files.

    Any ideas

  5. #5
    Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Join Date
    2014-03
    Posts
    1
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Data Links

    Quote Originally Posted by rgomez.100934 View Post
    Ah! My problem was that I did not see the fly-out arrow at the lower right in that datalink dialog.

    1. enter "datalink" to open Data Link Manager
    2. rt-click on your file and select "edit"
    3. expand the fly-out and then select "Allow writing to source file"

    Thanks!
    Hate to bump a dead thread but I'm getting this problem even after checking the write to source file. Actually more specifically I can write to the file the first time but after that it fails. Anybody have an idea?

Similar Threads

  1. 2014: Data links
    By tim_newsome in forum AutoCAD Civil 3D - General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2014-09-05, 10:30 AM
  2. 2014: Can Data Links Update Automatically?
    By settel in forum AutoCAD Tables
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2014-08-22, 07:32 AM
  3. eTransmit Package and Data Links/XRefs
    By StuntManStu in forum ACA General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2010-05-18, 03:06 PM
  4. ACLT2009 Blocks and Data Links
    By cad.192369 in forum AutoCAD Tables
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2008-11-26, 06:09 PM
  5. object data links
    By dasmith in forum AutoCAD Map 3D - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2004-10-04, 01:52 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •