Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Windows Update destabilized ACAD 2012?

  1. #1
    Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Join Date
    2014-03
    Posts
    1
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Windows Update destabilized ACAD 2012?

    Has anyone else experienced a problem after Windows did this weekend's update, with their AutoCAD crashing?

    Windows Security Essentials did an update on Thursday night (3/13/14). My machine was running, but ACAD was closed.
    Out of office Friday, but Monday morning (3/17/14) my AutoCAD 2012 was REALLY REALLY slow to start. (We have the CAD files on the server, but the ACAD is installed locally on my machine.
    Now, ACAD simply refuses to operate properly.
    I copied a titleblock from an existing drawing into a new drawing from the architect, and as soon as I "pasteclip" into the new drawing, it locks up.
    I have to use Task Manager to close AutoCAD.
    This happened all day.
    HOWEVER, we suddenly got a telephone call from AUTODESK, to remind us that ACAD 2012 would no longer be supprted if we didn't upgrade before next month (April, 2014).

    Is it too much of a coincidence that Autodesk called today?
    Has anyone else had problems with Windows Update?
    I even restored back to before the update. No luck.

    What's the fix?

    I even tried to re-install ACAD 2012 from the factory disk, and it just indicated that ACAD 2012 was installed. Didn't give me the option of RE-installing the program, etc.

    Anyone else?

  2. #2
    Certifiable AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2001-03
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL USA
    Posts
    3,568
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Windows Update destabilized ACAD 2012?

    When I installed a newer version of AutoCAD it required an update of Windows Net version that the older version didn't like. You may have the same issue, have you looked for updates and hotfixes? If you're on subscription I'd recommend installing 2014 since 2015 will be out soon.

  3. #3
    Certifiable AUGI Addict cadtag's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Cairo - no, not Illinois
    Posts
    4,988
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Windows Update destabilized ACAD 2012?

    No coincidence, you're just on the list of people who they want to get upgraded. Revenue's down I hear, so phone calls are up. I've gotten a couple myself.

    From Control Panel, you should be able to use the Programs applet, select your AutoCAD install there, and chose to Repair. (Or Reinstall from there, but I'd try doing a Repair first)

Similar Threads

  1. Update blocks for Autocad 2012
    By mmunoz930478 in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2012-10-08, 11:47 AM
  2. C3D 2012 Update 1 issue
    By civil3Dguide in forum AutoCAD Civil 3D - General
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 2011-12-13, 09:06 PM
  3. AutoCAD LT 2012 update
    By walkerj548863 in forum AutoCAD LT - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2011-10-25, 05:12 PM
  4. Autodesk Revit MEP 2012 Update 2 is now available
    By dave.pothier in forum Revit MEP - General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2011-10-04, 08:34 PM
  5. ACAD 2011 Structural Detailing SP1 or ACAD 2011 Update 1.1??
    By tmad101185 in forum CAD Management - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2010-09-27, 06:45 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •