See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Printer loses custom paper sizes

  1. #1
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2012-02
    Posts
    97
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Printer loses custom paper sizes

    I've an odd situation here. I did customize two printer´s and both of them plots to a file. Another one is DWGtoPDF and another one is DesginJet 650c, so pdf and .plt plotters. On both plotters I added same custom paper sizes and then saved .pc3 and .pmp for both plotters on a network location so I could share them. Now after couple days all paper sizes I added have disappeared and have been replaced by previous list.

    What happened and what am I missing now? Even the back up I did for those files on another location seem to have been modified.

  2. #2
    Administrator Opie's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-01
    Location
    jUSt Here (a lot)
    Posts
    9,132
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Printer loses custom paper sizes

    Are the network locations write protected for all?
    If you have a technical question, please find the appropriate forum and ask it there.
    You will get a quicker response from your fellow AUGI members than if you sent it to me via a PM or email.
    jUSt

  3. #3
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2012-02
    Posts
    97
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Printer loses custom paper sizes

    No I don't think so. But weird thing is that also those backup files seemed to have changed and they were in different location.

    Are you suggesting that since it was a shared location my paper sizes got overwritten by some other users settings?

  4. #4
    Administrator Opie's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-01
    Location
    jUSt Here (a lot)
    Posts
    9,132
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Printer loses custom paper sizes

    Most likely, yes.
    If you have a technical question, please find the appropriate forum and ask it there.
    You will get a quicker response from your fellow AUGI members than if you sent it to me via a PM or email.
    jUSt

  5. #5
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2012-02
    Posts
    97
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Printer loses custom paper sizes

    That makes sense. But it doesn't explain how did those backup files get also overwritten. I think I just have to give this another try.

  6. #6
    Active Member tuomo.jarvinen's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-09
    Location
    Jyväskylä, Finland
    Posts
    53
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Printer loses custom paper sizes

    I had installed Plotter "TIFF Version 6 (Uncompressed)" to my AutoCAD C3D 2020 and had made many many Custom Paper Sizes.
    Now I installed AutoCAD C3D 2024. I installed Plotter "TIFF Version 6 (Uncompressed)" to it and managed to bring my Custom Paper Sizes by Attaching the TIFF Version 6 (Uncompressed).pmp - file.
    But... for some reason I lost them in AutoCAD C3D 2020 - version. I re-installed the Plotter "TIFF Version 6 (Uncompressed)" and Attached my TIFF Version 6 (Uncompressed).pmp - file to import the Custom Paper Sizes but they just won't attach. Why... ???
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by tuomo.jarvinen; 2024-03-02 at 05:20 PM. Reason: Trying to attach a file

  7. #7
    Administrator Ed Jobe's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    Turlock, CA
    Posts
    6,475
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Printer loses custom paper sizes

    Are you trying to use the same plotter (pc3) files for both versions?
    C:> ED WORKING....


    LinkedIn

  8. #8
    Active Member tuomo.jarvinen's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-09
    Location
    Jyväskylä, Finland
    Posts
    53
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Printer loses custom paper sizes

    Quote Originally Posted by Ed Jobe View Post
    Are you trying to use the same plotter (pc3) files for both versions?
    Sorry, I hadn't noticed the answer earlier!
    Now I have TIFF Version 6 (Uncompressed).pc3 for C3D 2024 and another TIFF Version 6 (Uncompressed).pc3 for C3D 2020.

    pc3.JPG

    All my custom-made settings moved to C3D 2024 when I attached them and I lost them in C3D 2020 - and I can't copy them.
    Now i have to re-create them in C3D 2020.

    I wonder if I could write paper sizes to this pc3 - file with lisp?

  9. #9
    Administrator Ed Jobe's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    Turlock, CA
    Posts
    6,475
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: Printer loses custom paper sizes

    Quote Originally Posted by tuomo.jarvinen View Post
    I wonder if I could write paper sizes to this pc3 - file with lisp?
    No, it's a compiled file.
    If the pc3 file was created from the same driver, you should be able to copy the pc3 file from the 2020 support folder to the 2024 support folder. If not, when you created the custom page sizes, it should have been stored in a pmp file. Look in the PMP subfolder of the Plotters folder. You can then edit the 2024 version and import the pmp file. Well, you have to do it when you create a new pc3 file.
    C:> ED WORKING....


    LinkedIn

Similar Threads

  1. Custom paper sizes
    By jpo82 in forum AutoCAD Plotting
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2014-03-19, 06:03 AM
  2. Plotter Custom Paper Sizes
    By TroyGates in forum Revit - Plotting/Printing/Exporting
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2007-06-27, 03:45 PM
  3. Add custom paper sizes for DeskJet 450c
    By Cadventurer in forum AutoCAD Plotting
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2006-08-30, 03:55 PM
  4. Custom Paper Sizes
    By Robert.Williams82344 in forum AutoCAD Plotting
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 2005-03-25, 01:32 AM
  5. Setting up Custom paper sizes
    By sparky9t9 in forum AutoCAD Plotting
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2004-09-10, 11:11 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •