View Poll Results: Ability to draw electrical buss duct

Voters
58. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes, I definitly need this

    47 81.03%
  • This would be useful

    10 17.24%
  • Nice idea, but I wouldn't use it.

    1 1.72%
  • No, This is not needed, please work on another feature

    0 0%
  • This can already be done

    0 0%
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Ability to draw electrical buss duct

  1. #1
    ACA/AMEP Community Chair stelthorst's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-10
    Location
    San Francisco CA
    Posts
    1,190
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Ability to draw electrical buss duct

    Summary: I would like to add electrical buss duct to the electrical components catalog.

    Description: I would like another option (like conduit or cable tray) that will draw electrical buss duct. The feature could give options for buss duct voltage, amperage etc, just like conductors but look similar to cable tray.

    How used: On large commercial, residential and industrial jobs electrical buss duct is being used often. I currently use cable tray to represent electrical buss duct but since buss duct has square corners and cable tray has rounded corners I can't use cable tray fittings.

    Feature Affinity: Drawing Tools
    Last edited by stelthorst; 2006-09-21 at 04:27 PM.
    Scott Telthorst
    Quality Control Manager
    Helix Electric, Inc.
    www.helixelectric.com

    Some see the glass as half full, others as half empty. As an engineer I see the glass as twice as big as it needs to be. ~Unknown~

  2. #2
    ACA/AMEP Community Chair stelthorst's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-10
    Location
    San Francisco CA
    Posts
    1,190
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Ability to draw electrical buss duct

    Wow! Only one other person has voted!

    Am I the only one in the country that uses buss duct?

    I guess I'll stick to drawing cable tray to represent the buss duct.
    Scott Telthorst
    Quality Control Manager
    Helix Electric, Inc.
    www.helixelectric.com

    Some see the glass as half full, others as half empty. As an engineer I see the glass as twice as big as it needs to be. ~Unknown~

  3. #3
    Super Moderator dkoch's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-03
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    2,387
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Ability to draw electrical buss duct

    Quote Originally Posted by stelthorst
    Wow! Only one other person has voted!
    Am I the only one in the country that uses buss duct?
    I guess I'll stick to drawing cable tray to represent the buss duct.
    Well, it is still early - only one day since you posted. I suppose I should not tell you that I was the other person and I do not use ABS. Your request seemed like a good idea to me.
    David Koch

  4. #4
    Super Moderator david_peterson's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-09
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    5,682
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Ability to draw electrical buss duct

    Hi Scott, How are things. I thought I'd throw a vote at this one as well. I don't use ABS, but I don't see why they can't add content for the next release.
    Dave Peterson
    BIM Coordinator

    Acad - 2019 - Revit 2021 w/ BIM 360 - Navisworks - Ensacpe - Lumion - Windows 10 OS - i7-10850H 2.7GHz 64GB Ram - Nvidia Quadro RTX 3000
    "The more you know, the less you know, because the more you know you don't know". --M. Lin

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    2006-11
    Posts
    3
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Ability to draw electrical buss duct

    My company is just starting to use abs on a huge job. We use buss duct on a lot of our jobs, I was very disappointed to find out that it is not an option in abs.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    2015-10
    Posts
    44
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Ability to draw electrical buss duct

    I'm wanting this too. It is a very important part to electrical.

  7. #7
    Administrator Ed Jobe's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    Turlock, CA
    Posts
    5,819
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Ability to draw electrical buss duct

    I design substations and powerplants. I've always found Autodesk's support for these areas to be weak. So naturally, I voted Yes.
    C:> ED WORKING....

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    2006-08
    Posts
    3
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Ability to draw electrical buss duct

    We're a pretty big sized firm and do a variety or projects internationally which we need a variety of tools. Buss Duct tool should be expected in such a powerful software. I voted YES!

  9. #9
    Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Join Date
    2007-02
    Posts
    1
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Thumbs up Re: Ability to draw electrical buss duct

    This is very important for the end user applications as well as up front design and contractor costing. Revit is a construction life cycle tool not just a design.

  10. #10
    I could stop if I wanted to Comach's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-03
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    286
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Ability to draw electrical buss duct

    Quote Originally Posted by Ed Jobe View Post
    I design substations and powerplants. I've always found Autodesk's support for these areas to be weak. So naturally, I voted Yes.
    I just finished putting together a 3d cad strategy for a company doing the same sort of work - used MDT, Civil 3d and Map3d.

    Cut their design engineering time from an average 4 months to 5 days.

    MDT was the chosen 3d product for the majority of electrical/mechanical components that coupled with a modular philosophy worked out very well. The great benefit of using a product like MDT was the flexibility to create custom profiles and properties for anything you want and also the interoperability offered by using the DWG format with the other disciplines.

    I agree though that MEP products should have Bus Ducts included.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. The ability to draw lines in a 3D view without selecting a workplane first.
    By Wish List System in forum Revit Architecture - Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2012-07-09, 05:03 PM
  2. The ability to draw lines in 3D without selecting a workplane first.
    By Wish List System in forum Revit Structure - Wish List
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2012-07-09, 05:01 PM
  3. anyone know how to draw a flex here to connect the diffuser/duct?
    By oshalygin in forum Revit MEP - General
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 2009-03-25, 07:59 PM
  4. Ability to Draw a PLINE Offset from a Given Distance to an Existing Object
    By autocad.wishlist1734 in forum AutoCAD Wish List
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2008-03-14, 12:24 PM
  5. Ability to draw a circle with width
    By autocad.wishlist1734 in forum AutoCAD Wish List
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2006-05-18, 06:13 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •