Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Graphics Tablet.

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2004-11
    Location
    Red Lodge, Suffolk
    Posts
    14
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Unhappy Graphics Tablet.

    I have been using Autocad for some time now, and am starting to develop pains in my wrist and fingers. I have bought a 'Trust Wireless Design and Work Tablet' to use instead of the usual mouse. I managed to use the tablet quite well for 1 1/2 days before my copy of Autocad Lt 2004 crashed , and crashed repeatedly upon restarting the program. I rebooted my computer and tried again. No change. So i reinstalled LT and still the program crashed... until i unplugged the tablet, then the program opened fine. Can anyone help me figure out why the program crashed, and more importantly, why it took 1/12 days to do so. Surely if the problem was with the tablet it would have crashed the first time i tried to use it. Please help, i can't keep using a mouse as the pain has been getting progressivley worse over the past two weeks.

  2. #2
    Mod / Salary / SM Wanderer's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    5,300
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Wink Re: Graphics Tablet.

    Quote Originally Posted by fenlandhippie
    I have been using Autocad for some time now, and am starting to develop pains in my wrist and fingers. I have bought a 'Trust Wireless Design and Work Tablet' to use instead of the usual mouse. I managed to use the tablet quite well for 1 1/2 days before my copy of Autocad Lt 2004 crashed , and crashed repeatedly upon restarting the program. I rebooted my computer and tried again. No change. So i reinstalled LT and still the program crashed... until i unplugged the tablet, then the program opened fine. Can anyone help me figure out why the program crashed, and more importantly, why it took 1/12 days to do so. Surely if the problem was with the tablet it would have crashed the first time i tried to use it. Please help, i can't keep using a mouse as the pain has been getting progressivley worse over the past two weeks.
    can you provide some more information about the tablet? is there a model number?

    I've never used one of these, but, who knows, any information might be helpful...

    I know you said you successfully used it for almost two days before the problems, but, have you tried checking the manufacturer's website for updated drivers?
    Melanie Stone
    @MistresDorkness

    ARCHIBUS, FMS/FMInteract and AutoCAD Expert (I use Revit and Tririga, too)
    Technical Editor
    not all those who wander are lost

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2004-11
    Location
    Red Lodge, Suffolk
    Posts
    14
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Graphics Tablet.

    It is made by 'Trust' and is a 'Wireless Design and Work Tablet 400'

  4. #4
    Moderator arcadia_x27's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-10
    Location
    The 'Mill,Moncton, NB, Canada
    Posts
    516
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Graphics Tablet.

    I did a quick search and couldn't find anything about it conflicting with Autocad, The product support site is at www.trust.com they have a technical support site that you can access you may be able to find your answers there

    If it is causing Autocad to crash and you cant resolve this issue them maybe return it and try a Wacom tablet. They have better support for Autocad I would imagine. You might also want to make sure that you have your Direct X drivers and device drivers as up-to-date as possible as well as all service packs for Autocad LT 2004 installed as well
    Jason Goodwin
    Using ACA 2012


  5. #5
    AUGI Addict hand471037's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Location
    Oakland, California
    Posts
    1,934
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Graphics Tablet.

    The Wacom's simply work like a USB mouse, and I've used them since R14 without issue. They even have the drivers built-into XP now, so while you'll want to use the Wacom driver so you can access the extra buttons and things it will work just by plugging it in.

    So I second the above, if you can't get it working with the one you got, get a Wacom instead.

Similar Threads

  1. To use a graphics tablet or not????
    By slengineering in forum Revit - In Practice
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2019-10-08, 06:30 AM
  2. Graphics tablet - pen movement
    By rjcrowther in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2008-04-07, 01:12 PM
  3. Graphics tablet
    By rjcrowther in forum Revit - Hardware & Operating Systems
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2007-03-13, 02:10 AM
  4. Using Graphics Tablet with dual displays?
    By IanR in forum Hardware
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2007-01-31, 07:17 PM
  5. Pen Tablet
    By kjgiant in forum Revit - Hardware & Operating Systems
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2006-05-03, 06:13 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •