Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Adjusting Alignment Starting Point

  1. #1
    I could stop if I wanted to Iceberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    2008-12
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    472
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Adjusting Alignment Starting Point

    I have an alignment that I started 0+00 at the entrance to my subdivision. The engineer wants me to adjust the alignment to the centerline of the existing road. How can I extend the alignment to the centerline and give it a negative value. Say it's 30 feet to the centerline so my alignment would read -0+30.00 then start at 0+00 at my entrance.
    ~~ You can run all your life, but not go anywhere ~~

  2. #2
    Certifiable AUGI Addict cadtag's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Cairo - no, not Illinois
    Posts
    4,911
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Adjusting Alignment Starting Point

    i'll presume that the current starting segment is a straight line.

    stretch the alignment to the cl of existing road, <<if i care about the actual distance and don't want any numbers to shift, i'll out a circle at my desired distance centered on my known point>> then right click on the alignment and choose alignment properties, on that dial log, pick the Station control Tab, and set the station for the Reference point to be -0+30.

    As a general rule, i find i simplest to start my road alignments at the far RoW, and rarely start at a station less than 1+00
    Real pirates wear silk suits & ties, and write EULAs
    The only thing more dangerous to the liberty of a free people than big government, is big business.

    Toward a Sustainable Water Future: Visions for 2050 http://ascelibrary.org/doi/book/10.1061/9780784412077

  3. #3
    Administrator BlackBox's Avatar
    Join Date
    2009-11
    Posts
    5,616
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Adjusting Alignment Starting Point

    Just be mindful of the affect that extended crossing alignments will yield when modeling corridor intersections... As an example, this will result in a four quadrant (four-way) intersection in lieu of a two quadrant (T) intersection.

    Cheers
    "How we think determines what we do, and what we do determines what we get."

    Sincpac C3D ~ Autodesk Exchange Apps

    Computer Specs:
    Dell Precision 3630, Core i9-9900K 5.0GHz, 128GB RAM, Samsung 970 Pro M.2, 8GB NVIDIA Quadro P4000

Similar Threads

  1. Specific point on alignment
    By martyk in forum AutoCAD Civil 3D - Alignments
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2012-09-25, 04:55 PM
  2. hatch starting point?
    By Wagurto in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 2010-08-18, 09:02 PM
  3. Filled Region & Starting point
    By gtakayama in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2010-01-28, 09:06 PM
  4. Alignment starting point
    By Civil-Tech001 in forum AutoCAD Civil 3D - Alignments
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2008-01-07, 04:36 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •