Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Microstation Solids to Autocad Solids

  1. #1
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2012-02
    Posts
    82
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Microstation Solids to Autocad Solids

    Greetings,
    Does anyone know if there is some way to bring solids created in Microstation into Autocad as solids? I have used the Export command in Microstation to create a DWG file from a Microstation file with 3d solids. But all the solids come into Autocad as lines, 3d polylines, arcs.
    No solids.
    Does anyone know if 2015 can do the job? We are in the middle of a project and I want to wait until it's out of the way before implementing 2015 Autocad.
    Thank you

  2. #2
    Certified AUGI Addict cadtag's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Cairo - no, not Illinois
    Posts
    5,010
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Microstation Solids to Autocad Solids

    So, microstation converts 3d solids to non-solids when it exports to dwg. What happens when you import a DGN to your version of AutoCAD (instead of using the uStn export)

    Can you export an IGES files from microstation and import that to Acad? ACIS? 3DS?

    Search on Import in Acad help for a list of things it will read. possibly there are 3rd party converters out there....

    What other 3d formats does uStn support?

  3. #3
    Certified AUGI Addict jaberwok's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    0,0,0 The Origin
    Posts
    8,570
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Microstation Solids to Autocad Solids

    If ACIS, watch out for version numbers.
    I'm not sure but I think v17 might be the last to work between them.

  4. #4
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2012-02
    Posts
    82
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Microstation Solids to Autocad Solids

    That worked like a charm. I had forgotten about that format.
    Thank you

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2015-09-11, 08:57 PM
  2. Importing Revit to get AutoCAD solids?
    By sarahjane in forum AutoCAD 3D (2007 and above)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2008-12-01, 08:13 PM
  3. Import from AutoCad solids
    By david.fung in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2007-07-17, 05:04 PM
  4. Working with 3D Solids in AutoCAD 2005
    By timothyjturner in forum AutoCAD 3D (2006 or below)
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 2006-11-17, 02:21 PM
  5. Turning AutoCAD solids into surfaces
    By vpadale27188 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2005-03-24, 02:56 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •