Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: -PAN with coordinate entry not working as expected

  1. #1
    Time Lord Steve_Bennett's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Location
    far, far, far away...
    Posts
    4,730
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default -PAN with coordinate entry not working as expected

    I know there used to be a way I could script using –pan to go a specific distance in x/y and my brain just isn’t digging it up at the moment. HELP! =)


    If I have a viewport zoomed into content inside the white circle, and want to -PAN to the left (negative X) and down (negative Y), how do I do this? I can get the negative Y to work but the minute I try to introduce negative X, it goes the opposite direction I want (to the right). I’m feeling a bit famboozeled right now…
    coords.jpg
    Steve Bennett |BIM Manager
    Taylor Design | Adventures in BIM

  2. #2
    AUGI Addict jpaulsen's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-04
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    2,020
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: -PAN with coordinate entry not working as expected

    -pan
    Pick any base point
    @-7131625,-19084729 (be sure to include the @ symbol when specifying a second point)

    That works fine for me in C3D 2012.

  3. #3
    Time Lord Steve_Bennett's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Location
    far, far, far away...
    Posts
    4,730
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: -PAN with coordinate entry not working as expected

    Is picking a base point required (or instead, entering a base point from coordinates) or can that be skipped?
    Last edited by Steve_Bennett; 2014-06-06 at 07:50 PM.
    Steve Bennett |BIM Manager
    Taylor Design | Adventures in BIM

  4. #4
    Certified AUGI Addict jaberwok's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    0,0,0 The Origin
    Posts
    8,570
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: -PAN with coordinate entry not working as expected

    Quote Originally Posted by Steve_Bennett View Post
    Is picking a base point required (or instead, entering a base point from coordinates) or can that be skipped?
    You can just set the first point at 0,0,0

  5. #5
    Certifiable AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2001-03
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL USA
    Posts
    3,682
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: -PAN with coordinate entry not working as expected

    Of course if you know where you want to go you can use zoom center. If there's something you want to look at zoom object may do the trick.

  6. #6
    AUGI Addict jpaulsen's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-04
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    2,020
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: -PAN with coordinate entry not working as expected

    Quote Originally Posted by Steve_Bennett View Post
    Is picking a base point required (or instead, entering a base point from coordinates) or can that be skipped?
    AFAIK you have to specify a base point by either picking, typing coordinated or even using the @ symbol.

    The prompt "Specify base point or displacement:" is misleading. It indicates you can provide a displacement but I could not figure it out.

  7. #7
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2004-06
    Location
    Slidell, Louisiana
    Posts
    977
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: -PAN with coordinate entry not working as expected

    I'm using Autocad 2015. if I do a -pan and select a basepoint, if I type in @-x,-y it goes to the right and up, if I use @x,y it goes to the left and down. just the opposite of what you think it should do. why is that? is there a setting or sysvar that can be changed?

  8. #8
    Certified AUGI Addict jaberwok's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    0,0,0 The Origin
    Posts
    8,570
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: -PAN with coordinate entry not working as expected

    Quote Originally Posted by rmk View Post
    I'm using Autocad 2015. if I do a -pan and select a basepoint, if I type in @-x,-y it goes to the right and up, if I use @x,y it goes to the left and down. just the opposite of what you think it should do. why is that? is there a setting or sysvar that can be changed?
    Well, the obvious thing is to go to (type) UNITS and make sure the "Clockwise" box is not checked. [That's in 2013, I doubt that 2015 is different.]

  9. #9
    Certifiable AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2001-03
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL USA
    Posts
    3,682
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: -PAN with coordinate entry not working as expected

    Quote Originally Posted by Steve_Bennett View Post
    Is picking a base point required (or instead, entering a base point from coordinates) or can that be skipped?
    As the "Specify base point or displacement:" command prompt suggests you can enter a displacement then simply enter at the "Specify second point:" prompt. Probably the best option since Relative/Absolute input format switches when Dynamic Input is toggled on/off. No need to check the value of dynpicoords that way.

  10. #10
    100 Club
    Join Date
    2007-11
    Posts
    102
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: -PAN with coordinate entry not working as expected

    It is doing what you are telling it to do. Start -Pan and pick a start point and an end point. Your second point might be to the right of your first pick and the screen pans to the left.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. 2012: Snap overrides coordinate entry and grip edits
    By jrb63 in forum ACA General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2014-09-04, 04:42 PM
  2. Direct coordinate entry
    By revit.wishlist1942 in forum Revit Architecture - Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2008-12-15, 04:23 PM
  3. coordinate entry variable precision
    By Aston in forum AutoCAD Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2008-05-24, 01:06 PM
  4. Coordinate Properties and Entry Method
    By peter in forum Revit Structure - Wish List
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2005-12-12, 10:09 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •