See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Export to R12 DXF (no AcDs sections)

  1. #1
    I could stop if I wanted to Griff's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    295
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Export to R12 DXF (no AcDs sections)

    I need to be able to save an R14 dwg file as R12 dwg and export that file to a DXF in the old R12 version.
    The issue: in Acad 2013 there is a new section in dxf (AcDs). AcDs is a new data storage format within the dwg/dxf file. Currently it is used for storing the data for solids, regions, surfaces, and the preview image
    That is all fine except that we have a program that compiles our dxf files. It won't work on AutoCad 2013 or newer files because it adds the ACDS sections into the dwg/dxf file. I can save the R14 dwg version to R10 (with the saveas command) but it still has the ACDS section in the file.

    Does anyone know how I can do this?

  2. #2
    Certifiable AUGI Addict cadtag's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Cairo - no, not Illinois
    Posts
    4,988
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: Export to R12 DXF (no AcDs sections)

    sure, use the command DXFOUT, and pick the "AutoCAD R12/LT2 DXF" format. (bottom of pull-down list)

  3. #3
    Certified AUGI Addict jaberwok's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    0,0,0 The Origin
    Posts
    8,570
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: Export to R12 DXF (no AcDs sections)

    Or ... when you "saveas" change the file extension in the box below the filename - pick the lower arrow and pick as cadtag suggests.

    [Note though that R12 DXF will remain the default file type once selected.]

  4. #4
    Certifiable AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2001-03
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL USA
    Posts
    3,568
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Export to R12 DXF (no AcDs sections)

    Are you talking about 2012 and 2014 when you mention R12 and R14? You also mentioned 2013. I don't think you can compile a DWG or a DXF, but you can compress both of them. If space is the issue a DWG would be a smaller file compressed or not. If you want to keep doing things the way you've always done you need to upgrade the software you're using each time you upgrade AutoCAD. What benefit do you get from using that software? There are a lot of file management options out there.

  5. #5
    I could stop if I wanted to Griff's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    295
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Export to R12 DXF (no AcDs sections)

    Quote Originally Posted by Tom Beauford View Post
    Are you talking about 2012 and 2014 when you mention R12 and R14? You also mentioned 2013. I don't think you can compile a DWG or a DXF, but you can compress both of them. If space is the issue a DWG would be a smaller file compressed or not. If you want to keep doing things the way you've always done you need to upgrade the software you're using each time you upgrade AutoCAD. What benefit do you get from using that software? There are a lot of file management options out there.
    Quote Originally Posted by jaberwok View Post
    Or ... when you "saveas" change the file extension in the box below the filename - pick the lower arrow and pick as cadtag suggests.

    [Note though that R12 DXF will remain the default file type once selected.]
    Quote Originally Posted by cadtag View Post
    sure, use the command DXFOUT, and pick the "AutoCAD R12/LT2 DXF" format. (bottom of pull-down list)
    That option worked, thank you. As for the software that I create the dxf file for, it's a customers software that they use so I can't upgrade it. In fact, there currently is no upgrade for it.

Similar Threads

  1. AEC-sections or similar "single"-section + sections without depth
    By Wish List System in forum Civil 3D Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2014-11-14, 06:56 AM
  2. Export Sections, Detail and Page Links to PDF's
    By Wish List System in forum Revit Architecture - Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2013-11-07, 07:23 PM
  3. Building sections vs wall sections-best practices
    By jwilhelm in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 2005-10-12, 03:05 PM
  4. Building Sections vs Wall Sections
    By Alex Page in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2004-07-26, 08:49 PM
  5. Curtain Panels disappear in printed and export sections?????
    By Martin P in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 2003-06-19, 06:01 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •