Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Multiple drawings open with one cad session

  1. #1
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2006-03
    Location
    Cedar Falls, IA
    Posts
    432
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Multiple drawings open with one cad session

    What variable controls whether I have Multiple drawings open with one cad session without closing the current drawing?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Certifiable AUGI Addict cadtag's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Cairo - no, not Illinois
    Posts
    4,765
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Multiple drawings open with one cad session

    SDI

    Set it to 1 to enable single document mode, set to 0 to open multiple drawings in a single acad session
    Real pirates wear silk suits & ties, and write EULAs
    The only thing more dangerous to the liberty of a free people than big government, is big business.

    Toward a Sustainable Water Future: Visions for 2050 http://ascelibrary.org/doi/book/10.1061/9780784412077

  3. #3
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2006-03
    Location
    Cedar Falls, IA
    Posts
    432
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Multiple drawings open with one cad session

    Quote Originally Posted by cadtag View Post
    SDI

    Set it to 1 to enable single document mode, set to 0 to open multiple drawings in a single acad session
    When I do this a dialog box opens asking if I want to save changes to current drawing and then closes it before opening the next drawing. I want to be able to have multiple drawings open without having multiple Land Desktop 2007 sessions. Other versions of ACAD have the Window menu that list all of the drawings you have open. There is no Window menu in LDT. I am knew to LDT. Please advise.

  4. #4
    I could stop if I wanted to Iceberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    2008-12
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    467
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Multiple drawings open with one cad session

    The windows menu does not show up in Land Desktop because you can only have 1 active drawing open at a time.
    ~~ You can run all your life, but not go anywhere ~~

  5. #5
    Certifiable AUGI Addict cadtag's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Cairo - no, not Illinois
    Posts
    4,765
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Multiple drawings open with one cad session

    Land Desktop has never allowed multiple documents. the only workaround is to open multiple sessions of AutoCAD.

    <edit>

    there's another workaround --- as long as you don't need LDT features to work.... That package included an installation/startup icon for "Land Enabled Map" as I recall, and that runs in a multiple document mode. But will not do anything with LDT alingments, surfaces, etc.
    Last edited by cadtag; 2014-06-19 at 02:15 PM.
    Real pirates wear silk suits & ties, and write EULAs
    The only thing more dangerous to the liberty of a free people than big government, is big business.

    Toward a Sustainable Water Future: Visions for 2050 http://ascelibrary.org/doi/book/10.1061/9780784412077

  6. #6
    Super Moderator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,706
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Multiple drawings open with one cad session

    Quote Originally Posted by cadtag View Post
    Land Desktop has never allowed multiple documents.
    Not exactly correct. The last couple of versions (I want to say 2008, 09?) did allow MDI, although most people recommended against this for various reasons. Even versions before that, it was possible to get into MDI mode, I don't remember what little trick it was though. I used to run LDT in MDI mode all the time and I never had any issues, but I do know a lot of people that did.

    You can search for "Land Desktop +MDI" for more data on this.
    R.K. McSwain | CAD Panacea |

  7. #7
    Super Moderator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,706
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Multiple drawings open with one cad session

    Note: I moved this thread from the Civil 3D forum to the proper Land Desktop forum.
    R.K. McSwain | CAD Panacea |

Similar Threads

  1. Automatically Open Drawings From Previous Session
    By CADdancer in forum VBA/COM Interop
    Replies: 129
    Last Post: 2008-11-14, 05:32 AM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2007-09-19, 03:40 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2006-11-06, 09:24 PM
  4. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2006-10-09, 09:25 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •