Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Applying a change to all or a range of Viewpoints?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2010-08
    Posts
    44
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Post Applying a change to all or a range of Viewpoints?

    I often find myself realizing I want certain geometry hidden or shown in several pre-existing Viewpoints where that geometry may or may not be as I desire it to be. Currently I have to iterate through the tree and verify the desired visual state and make the same change over and over again to those Viewpoints where the state is not as desired. This is tedious, repetitive and exactly the type of thing computers were designed to remedy. What I want to be able to do is select the offending geometry then select a range of Viewpoints and then apply say, a hide or show and that change occur in all of the selected Viewpoints. Currently that is not the case. I can do as described but with no change in any of the Viewpoints. I thought it maybe my approach is wrong and that what I want to do is possible but must be accomplished in some other way.

    Is this the case or does this belong as a Wish List item?

  2. #2
    Certifiable AUGI Addict dhurtubise's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-07
    Location
    Somewhere in the BIM world
    Posts
    3,792
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Applying a change to all or a range of Viewpoints?

    im not sure what you are referring to with geometry but that seems to me that it's exactly what View Template does

  3. #3
    All AUGI, all the time pauljordan's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Rock -- Me -- Hard Place
    Posts
    747
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Applying a change to all or a range of Viewpoints?

    Have you tried making the change to one viewpoint, then saving that viewpoint or 'updating' it using the right click menu? Then you can select a bunch of other viewpoints you need to make look the same (things like text turned off, layers hidden, not much really) and right click but, this time select the edit command through the right click menu.

    To get to the menus I'm talking about, select your viewpoints, then right click on the viewpoint names. If you have multiple selected, they'll all be changed according to what you select.

    It's one of those things you might have to play around with to get it to work the way you want it to work but, I've used it before with some decent results.
    Give a man AutoCad, and he'll draw you a floor plan.
    Give a man Revit and he'll build you a house.
    Give Cadmama a couple of drinks and she'll have everyone singing Rockytop!

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    2010-08
    Posts
    44
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Applying a change to all or a range of Viewpoints?

    Quote Originally Posted by dhurtubise View Post
    im not sure what you are referring to with geometry but that seems to me that it's exactly what View Template does
    View Templates, as far as I know, are specific to Revit. I am not aware of View Templates within Navisworks and neither is the help within Navisworks itself. The Revit View Template convention is the gist of what I want to do in Navisworks, though... that is, apply a specific set of attributes to a set of Viewpoints.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    2010-08
    Posts
    44
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Applying a change to all or a range of Viewpoints?

    Quote Originally Posted by pauljordan View Post
    Have you tried making the change to one viewpoint, then saving that viewpoint or 'updating' it using the right click menu? Then you can select a bunch of other viewpoints you need to make look the same (things like text turned off, layers hidden, not much really) and right click but, this time select the edit command through the right click menu.

    To get to the menus I'm talking about, select your viewpoints, then right click on the viewpoint names. If you have multiple selected, they'll all be changed according to what you select.

    It's one of those things you might have to play around with to get it to work the way you want it to work but, I've used it before with some decent results.
    I use the Update method all of the time to get a viewpoint changed to the way that I want it. The problem in my case is that making the same change to multiple viewpoints requires loading the given viewpoint making the same change again and hitting update again. Otherwise I would be making all of my viewpoints look exactly the same. For example, in this case, I realized that a metal stair system is visible in every single viewpoint. I want that metal stair system removed in every single viewpoint. Otherwise, every single viewpoint has something different in it from the others although they all currently display the metal stair system. Sure, I can load a given viewpoint, select the metal stair geometry, hide it and update that single viewpoint. If I were to then update the next viewpoint I would have just made a copy of the 1st viewpoint.

    Using the Edit menu gives me options to adjust the camera position and the Show/Hide attributes, etc. If I choose Edit with multiple viewpoint selected all options are greyed out except the show/hide and materials checkboxes. I'm not sure what you are saying I should be doing otherwise. If I select multiple viewpoints, hide some geometry that appears in all viewpoints (say, the metal stairs) then right click the group of selected viewpoints and choose Update it will only hide that geometry in the viewpoint I right clicked on even though the selection indicates multiple viewpoints selected still. If I proceed to right click and choose update again I will then have multiple viewpoints that look exactly the same.

Similar Threads

  1. 2012: Cannot change Global Cut Plane Range
    By aagilbert.255460 in forum AMEP General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2014-03-21, 04:55 PM
  2. Render Styles in Viewpoints
    By pauljordan in forum NavisWorks - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2011-12-16, 11:32 PM
  3. Sectioning and Viewpoints
    By Carlos_G in forum NavisWorks - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2010-03-24, 10:30 PM
  4. Cannot change shadow range step
    By frodriguezpc in forum Ecotect Analysis
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2010-02-19, 11:59 PM
  5. Freedom Viewpoints
    By ekolto in forum NavisWorks - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2008-08-15, 04:24 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •