Thread: Comments on Laptop Configuration? - Gaming Rig for Revit and 3DS Max

Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Login to Give a bone

Default Comments on Laptop Configuration? - Gaming Rig for Revit and 3DS Max

Hi!
    I am an Architect and working using Revit and Max softwares doing heavy complex modeling a bit of rendering and photoshop touch up.
    I am planning to buy a gaming laptop aorus x7 v2.
    I play video games in my vacant time. Have any of you guys use gaming laptop for personal work?
    Is it really possible to have a laptop where you can work hard and playhard as well?

Please advise.

AUGI Addict
    Login to Give a bone

Default Re: Comments on Laptop Configuration? - Gaming Rig for Revit and 3DS Max

Not the best of ideas unless you *really* need the portability of the laptop and/or have money burning a hole in your pocket. Desktops have better airflow, more available power, higher performance components, and less cost. Use the savings to pick up a tablet for the lightweight stuff.

Login to Give a bone

Default Re: Comments on Laptop Configuration? - Gaming Rig for Revit and 3DS Max

It's not impossible. Currently my out of the office "workstation" is a 17" Alienware with an i7 and 8gb of ram and a nividia 600 graphics card.

While "mobile workstations" are nice. Unless you are really all about taking work home with you or using a personal machine for work related activities, I would go with a desktop workstation. They have better air flow, better components, typically are cheaper, and provide a wider array of versatility in regards upgrades and visual abilities.

I would probably recommend getting something along the lines of a Dell Mobile Workstation like the 6800 series, or at least something dockable. Having the ability to use multiple displays without having your laptop open is huge. Not to mention it makes your desk a lot cleaner and its easier to pick up and go if you need to.