Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Plant 3D & Revit Collaboration

  1. #1
    Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Join Date
    2014-11
    Posts
    1
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Plant 3D & Revit Collaboration

    Hello all! We are using Plant Design Suite for our utility piping design for a large part of our business. We also have architects, mechanical & electrical engineers using Revit for the facility design of the infrastructure around the processing line. The two programs, Plant Design 3D & Revit, do not collaborate well. There are many steps to import the Plant Design model into Revit so that the Revit designers can do their design. And the integration of the PD model is static not dynamic so that the PD model has to be re-imported into the Revit model daily. Likewise with the Revit model into the PD model; the Revit model has to export its model to an AutoCAD format and be attached to the PD model.


    Navisworks makes a great tool for integrating the models but it is a 3rd software. It does not solve the problem of the live model integration.


    Does anyone have this problem with Plant Design and Revit and what solutions are there to make this work better?


    Is anyone aware of what, if anything AutoDesk is doing to correct this problem now or in the future? Thank you.

  2. #2
    Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Join Date
    2005-08
    Posts
    1
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Plant 3D & Revit Collaboration

    Navisworks maybe your only hope for sometime to come. Though a cumbersome solution, it provides the necessary interface that you'll need to work effectively. I know of situations where the operators have Navisworks open on one screen of a dual monitor system, and their AutoCAD based product on the second. This way they can see what they're doing in the context of the model.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2015-09
    Posts
    2
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Plant 3D & Revit Collaboration

    Quote Originally Posted by gneuhaus682935 View Post
    Hello all! We are using Plant Design Suite for our utility piping design for a large part of our business. We also have architects, mechanical & electrical engineers using Revit for the facility design of the infrastructure around the processing line. The two programs, Plant Design 3D & Revit, do not collaborate well. There are many steps to import the Plant Design model into Revit so that the Revit designers can do their design. And the integration of the PD model is static not dynamic so that the PD model has to be re-imported into the Revit model daily. Likewise with the Revit model into the PD model; the Revit model has to export its model to an AutoCAD format and be attached to the PD model.


    Navisworks makes a great tool for integrating the models but it is a 3rd software. It does not solve the problem of the live model integration.


    Does anyone have this problem with Plant Design and Revit and what solutions are there to make this work better?


    Is anyone aware of what, if anything AutoDesk is doing to correct this problem now or in the future? Thank you.

    Hi there,

    Did you ever get a solution for this problem?
    We are facing the same issue in that the company has selected Plant 3D as our platform but the majority (95%) of the structures we design and build in this office are made of concrete.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    2015-09
    Posts
    2
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Plant 3D & Revit Collaboration

    Quote Originally Posted by gneuhaus682935 View Post
    Hello all! We are using Plant Design Suite for our utility piping design for a large part of our business. We also have architects, mechanical & electrical engineers using Revit for the facility design of the infrastructure around the processing line. The two programs, Plant Design 3D & Revit, do not collaborate well. There are many steps to import the Plant Design model into Revit so that the Revit designers can do their design. And the integration of the PD model is static not dynamic so that the PD model has to be re-imported into the Revit model daily. Likewise with the Revit model into the PD model; the Revit model has to export its model to an AutoCAD format and be attached to the PD model.


    Navisworks makes a great tool for integrating the models but it is a 3rd software. It does not solve the problem of the live model integration.


    Does anyone have this problem with Plant Design and Revit and what solutions are there to make this work better?


    Is anyone aware of what, if anything AutoDesk is doing to correct this problem now or in the future? Thank you.

    I want to eliminate the headaches. So, I'm streaming more towards Revit MEP as the primary tool. We'll have to add pipe families and other families but a one stop shop looks worth it to me.

    Now what to do about P&IDs?

  5. #5
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2008-06
    Location
    DENVER COLORADO
    Posts
    67
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Plant 3D & Revit Collaboration

    Autocad P&ID??? I'm a veteran autodesk user who loves revit and comes from general building, but over the past year and one half I've found myself in a plant environment that uses Bentley none the less. Their main software which is dedicated to this realm is Open Plant and it is a bear to learn. I feel like I'm learning Chinese. That being said, they have a direct linkage between the P&ID and the 3D model. I thought maybe Autodesk had a better solution, but it doesn't appear to be the case. Or am I reading this one thread wrong? best regards... and good luck.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2013-03-15, 09:43 PM
  2. Revit Structure Collaboration
    By CADdancer in forum Revit Structure - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2009-12-09, 09:16 PM
  3. Collaboration in REVIT
    By agustnj.187972 in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2009-08-11, 12:17 AM
  4. collaboration Revit- Inventor
    By gravelin in forum Français - Inventor / AutoCAD Mechanical / AutoCAD Electrical
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2006-12-15, 11:03 AM
  5. Revit to Plant 4d
    By david_peterson in forum Revit Structure - General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2006-03-16, 07:14 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •