Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: CTB -> STB conversion

  1. #1
    Member stu1037's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-03
    Location
    ...between bike rides...
    Posts
    43
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default CTB -> STB conversion

    After recently attending CAD Camp, and knowing that my company is upgrading to 2006 soon (LDD, Civil 3D, Survey...), my cohorts and I have decided to switch from .ctb files to .stb. We are also implementing new layering standards and have overhauled our detail library. I assume we will need to change all these drawings over to .stb based drawings so we can insert them into whatever current drawing we are in to prevent those objects being assigned a 'normal' plot style.
    Is there an automated way that would avoid the "Open a file, convert it, save it, lather rinse repeat" process using the CONVERTPSTYLES command? We have 300+ files.

    Thanks a bunch in advance!
    PLUR,
    sTu
    "Most people wouldn't know good music if it came up and bit them in the ***." - Frank Zappa

  2. #2
    AUGI Addict Glenn Pope's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-05
    Location
    Austin, TX USA
    Posts
    2,201
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: CTB -> STB conversion

    You could write a scrip file that would open each drawing, do it's magic, save the drawing, close it and move on to the next one.

    Do a search in the forums for "script" and you should find a lot of information on how to write one.
    Glenn Pope
    Civil Designer/CAD Manager
    River City Engineering
    AutoCAD Civil 3D 2011 Ver. 3
    Windows 7 Pro 64bit
    I explode MTEXT.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2015-11
    Posts
    10
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Exclamation Re: CTB -> STB conversion

    My firm switched from using ctbs to stbs in October 2001. Our system works very well for us.

    Here are a couple of tips:
    1) Before you convert your files to stb, make sure all objects are colored bylayer! THIS INCLUDES OBJECTS IMBEDDED WITHIN BLOCKS. Keep in mind: If an object has a color hard-coded to it, when converted to stb it will have a plot style hard-coded to it. Colors can be seen, plotstyles cannot. Tip: Use the LAYTRANS command to insure all objects are colored bylayer.

    2) Converting from stb to ctb is an easy one-step process. Converting from ctb to stb can be more complex, depending upon your style configuration. It is impossible to script a conversion with our company standard stb as we have to use a special "conversion stb" as an intermediate step when converting to our system. Only after the conversion has been completed can we then assign the correct stb file and then the correct Plot Style to each layer.(The only time we ever convert is when we receive files from outside.)

    3) An alternative to using the CONVERTPSTYLES command is to open a blank style-based drawing and inserting your existing ctb-based files. Obviously, importing Paper space is a problem with this method.

    Mike Partenheimer
    CAD Manager
    Hall & Foreman, Inc

  4. #4
    The Silent Type Mike.Perry's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Posts
    13,654
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: CTB -> STB conversion

    Hi

    Have a browse of the following thread -

    stb to ctb (ACAD 2005)

    Have a good one, Mike

  5. #5
    100 Club Phil Ferguson's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-08
    Location
    Buckeye State
    Posts
    137
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: CTB -> STB conversion

    Quote Originally Posted by mikepartenheimer
    3) An alternative to using the CONVERTPSTYLES command is to open a blank style-based drawing and inserting your existing ctb-based files. Obviously, importing Paper space is a problem with this method.
    Have you tried 'Design Center'? Makes it really easy to import layouts from another drawing.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    2015-11
    Posts
    10
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: CTB -> STB conversion

    Thanks so much for the tip!
    I have our in-house customization set up to use Design Center for standard dimension styles & blocks which we use all the time. Using it to import all Paper Space objects from a drawing just never clicked.

    This is great. (It's just too bad we can't import both Paper & Model at the same time.)

    Thanks again.

    Mike Partenheimer
    CAD Manager
    Hall & Foreman, Inc.

Similar Threads

  1. PDF conversion to DXF
    By Mac Demer in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2010-05-27, 02:53 PM
  2. PLT to PDF Conversion
    By gio_2 in forum Software
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2010-03-10, 07:23 PM
  3. PDF to DXF conversion
    By Mac Demer in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2010-02-05, 11:11 PM
  4. 6.1 Conversion to 7.0
    By Doug in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2004-11-09, 11:57 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •