Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Insert image, unload image, image border stays around

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2010-06
    Posts
    5
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Insert image, unload image, image border stays around

    I'm confused about the way autocad treats inserted imagery. Sometimes I'll have three images (JPGs or PNGs) behind my drawing as a reference (usually satellite imagery). The image shows up in the xref window. If I choose to unload the xref, the image unloads, but the image border stays around. I can turn off image borders, but I can still select the unloaded image (or maybe I'm selecting its invisible boundary). If I make a marquee selection which overlaps the image, the image will be selected too. I can put the image on its own XREF layer then turn it off, but what am I supposed to do when I want Image 1 turned off and Image 2 turned on, but don't want to be accidentally grabbing Image 1 and moving it? Ideally, I'd like to treat images as XREFs, and keep them attached to the file but unloaded until I need them.

  2. #2
    Administrator Ed Jobe's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    Turlock, CA
    Posts
    5,775
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Insert image, unload image, image border stays around

    You can turn off the display of image frames, IMAGEFRAME = 0.
    C:> ED WORKING....

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2010-06
    Posts
    5
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Insert image, unload image, image border stays around

    Yes, but it's still selectable. I do not want to be able to select it.
    If I draw a marquee around a bunch of objects, I don't want to also select the image underneath (which I've already unloaded and turned off the image frames)

  4. #4
    Administrator Ed Jobe's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    Turlock, CA
    Posts
    5,775
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Insert image, unload image, image border stays around

    The only other thing I can think of is to have 2 image layers, ImagesLoaded = Thawed and ImagesUnloaded = Frozen. Change the image layer when you want to load/unload it. Since Frozen layers do not load, you don't have to worry about unloading the image. If you still want to see it, but not select it, put it on a locked layer.
    C:> ED WORKING....

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    2010-06
    Posts
    5
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Insert image, unload image, image border stays around

    Sounds good.

    It's a bummer that images don't work the same way as xrefs.

Similar Threads

  1. Can't Insert Tif image "Image file not Valid"
    By dguinan in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2007-01-10, 08:03 PM
  2. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2006-10-14, 05:03 AM
  3. AutoCAD 2005 TIFF Image files - Image file not valid
    By richard_hamilton in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2004-09-30, 11:39 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •