Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Line Based Repeating Details - Interchangeable Details

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2015-04
    Posts
    2
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Line Based Repeating Details - Interchangeable Details

    I am trying to make a line based detail component for masonry block walls with the idea that once you put in your component you can "Tab" through the individual blocks, select a block, and then change it to a bond beam/lintel block wherever you need it. Is this possible to make? Does anyone have examples of this? The line based detail family that I made doesn't allow me to select individual blocks...not sure where I made a mistake.

    Any point into the right direction is appreciated!

  2. #2
    Super Moderator dkoch's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-03
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    2,371
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Line Based Repeating Details - Interchangeable Details

    I do not believe that is possible, but would be happy to be proved wrong. Until someone else chimes in to show how it can be done, you may want to consider separate non-line-based detail components, each with a masking fill and whatever alternate graphics you want to see, which could be placed over the repeating family to allow you to add bond beams, lintel blocks, or any other atypical condition for a particular masonry unit in your repeating family.
    David Koch

  3. #3
    I could stop if I wanted to rbcameron1's Avatar
    Join Date
    2008-09
    Location
    Nebraska & Iowa
    Posts
    378
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Line Based Repeating Details - Interchangeable Details

    That would be a cool feature, but I don't believe it exists now. You could throw it in the "wishlist" bucket but I'm not sure how many people would use that feature. I would, but again, not sure who else.
    RB Cameron, AIA, LEED AP, EDAC
    BIM Coordinator - VDC Coordinator - Visualization Artist
    Download Healthcare Revit+3dsMax Models
    Download Revit+3dsMax Models

  4. #4
    Certifiable AUGI Addict Dimitri Harvalias's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Location
    Vancouver, BC Canada
    Posts
    3,753
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Line Based Repeating Details - Interchangeable Details

    All I can suggest is to create your line based component and add the bond beams or lintel blocks individually where required. If the bond beams are at regular intervals you can create a second DC that has a variable for spacing and either apply it locally or nest it into your regular family. (That last suggestion probably falls into the 'just because we can doesn't mean we should' category )

    Oops! Essentially what David suggests in his reply (reminder: read all replies before posting )

Similar Threads

  1. 2013: Repeating Details Do able via the api?
    By scowsert in forum Revit - API
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2015-12-07, 09:10 AM
  2. Repeating Details & Filters
    By DaveP in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 2008-11-13, 03:06 PM
  3. Repeating Details with Annotations
    By bowlingbrad in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2005-06-01, 02:02 PM
  4. Loving the repeating details.....
    By Martin P in forum Revit - In Practice
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2005-01-26, 08:49 PM
  5. Repeating Details
    By Chad Smith in forum Revit Architecture - Wish List
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2004-09-07, 03:10 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •