See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Hyperlink on FDO feature

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2013-08
    Posts
    4
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Hyperlink on FDO feature

    I'm trying to create hyperlinks for the features in an FDO layer. Each feature has the entire URL as a feature property (attribute). When I use the Web Address pull down from the properties pallet and select the name for that propery, it gives me an message suggesting that I add the url as a new property for the feature. I don't need to do that. In fact I don't have permission to edit the feature's properties. With either choice, it doesn't produce a hyperlink for the feature.

    It would be extremely helpful to be able to use a feature property as the hyperlink for that feature.

  2. #2
    Geospatial Moderator Jmurphy's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    TN/KY Area
    Posts
    1,640
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: Hyperlink on FDO feature

    Hyperlinks are not available in Map3D with FDO (Data Connect). The best I know of is with object data tables attached to entities and using document view.
    J. Murphy
    AKA
    Murph
    The former AutoCAD MAP3D Power User

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2013-08
    Posts
    4
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: Hyperlink on FDO feature

    For those interested, I wasn't able to add hyperlinks directly to the features, but found a way to export the features into blocks with hyperlinks. This requires the use of ArcGIS for AutoCAD (free from ESRI), along with it's bonus tools. These are the steps.


    Prepare a block in the target drawings with any attributes defined. Feature attributes will be transferred to block attributes where an attribute definition of the same name exists.

    Using the MAPIMPORT command, select the desired shape file. In the Points column, pick the Point Mapping button. In the dialog box, select Create as block, and check Get attribute values from fields.

    In the ArcGIS (add-in) tab, open the GIS Contents.

    In the AFA Bonus Tools, select AFA_BLOCKTOFC command to create a feature class from the new blocks.

    Then, run ESRI_CALCULATEFIELD.

    When prompted to enter the field name, type the name of the attribute that contains the path for the hyperlink. (for me it's named DOCLINK)

    When prompted for the expression, replacing DOCLINK with your attribute name, enter (progn (command "ESRI_CLEARSELECTION") (command "-HYPERLINK" "Insert" "Object" ESRI_CALC_ENT "" [DOCLINK] "" [DOCLINK] ) [DOCLINK])


    After a lot of frustration, I found this method on .

    I hope someone finds this helpful.

Similar Threads

  1. History feature or time tracking feature
    By Wish List System in forum Revit Architecture - Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2013-11-19, 07:56 PM
  2. 2014: Hyperlink
    By gofy in forum Inventor - General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2013-06-27, 04:57 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2010-09-21, 02:11 PM
  4. NEED HYPERLINK HELP
    By RREDDEN.99202 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2007-12-03, 02:56 PM
  5. Hyperlink to .pdf?
    By Poorest Chump in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2006-04-20, 04:03 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •