See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Thread: Error creating Spiral to Spiral

Login to Give a bone

Default Error creating Spiral to Spiral

I am a land surveyor, tasked with laying out a road centerline that was designed in the early 20th century. The alignment is a series of tangent, spiral, curve, spiral, tangent, ect. There is one point where the series is broken and the plan calls for a spiral into a curve with and arc length of 0.00, then a spiral out. I cheated here and gave the arc length a value of 0.01 feet. Now, given the extreme difficulty I encountered attempting to create this alignment in civil 3d, I used a third party program to create a land XML file of the alignment. Everything looks good with my xml file, but when I import the alignments into civil 3d, it takes the arc length of 0.01 feet and somehow curves it back on it's self. This results in erroneous station and offset information when labeling or creating points. As far as I can tell, it's a flaw in the programing, has anyone come across this before?

I have attached my drawing, the problem can be seen on the CL2 Alignment @ STA: 497+61.23