See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: How to create a CUIX through code

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2013-01
    Posts
    18
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default How to create a CUIX through code

    1.how to...
    create a cuix through vb.net code
    2.how to...
    make an installer for a plugin
    thnks

  2. #2
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2007-08
    Posts
    201
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: How to create a CUIX through code

    Hi,

    I never created a CUIX through code, but a quick search gives some results:
    http://through-the-interface.typepad...ng_a_part.html
    http://adndevblog.typepad.com/autoca...d-ins-tab.html

    But if you build a plugin (bundle), you do not need to create the CUIX through code. You can build your partial CUIX from AutoCAD CUI command and just add the CUIX file to your plugin.

    Building an installer is not related to AutoCAD but, one more time, Kean Walmsley covered the subjectsome times ago (it uses the the "old" loading via registry):
    http://through-the-interface.typepad...er-part-1.html
    http://through-the-interface.typepad...er-part-2.html
    http://through-the-interface.typepad...er-part-3.html

    In these subjects, Kean used Visual Studio 2008. The Visual Studio Setup and Deployment projects wizzard was only available in VS2008 and VS2010 professional (or upper) version.
    It disappeared with the 2012 version but with VS2013 or VS2015 (even community editions) you can re-use it after installing an extension :
    VS2013:
    https://visualstudiogallery.msdn.mic...9-0fbf6151054d
    VS2015:
    https://visualstudiogallery.msdn.mic...7-c509fb8933b9
    The MSDN docs for the 2010 Installer is still relevant with the extension:
    English:
    https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/lib...vs.100%29.aspx
    French:
    https://msdn.microsoft.com/fr-fr/lib...vs.100%29.aspx

    Deploying an AutoCAD plugin (bundle folder) with Windows Installer is quite easy, just build the bundle folder tree in the File System editor and fill it with the .xml, .cuix, .dll... files required by your plugin.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2013-01
    Posts
    18
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: How to create a CUIX through code

    thank you so much
    now that i have all necessary tools
    i m going to build my first plug in in my life

    one small step for me , ......
    je vous tiendrai au courant.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    2013-01
    Posts
    18
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: How to create a CUIX through code

    hello
    to etablish xml file, exactly in ApplicationPackage
    wher can i get the productcode and UpgradeCode
    or i build my own (random) code?
    ProductCode="{xxxxx-xx-..........}"
    UpgradeCode="{xxx-xxx-xxxx..........}"
    thank you

  5. #5
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2007-08
    Posts
    201
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: How to create a CUIX through code

    Hi,

    Build your own. Visual Studio has a GUID generator (Tools > Create Guid).

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    2013-01
    Posts
    18
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: How to create a CUIX through code

    1-I don't found it do i have to install it?

    2-I build a sample and the result is good .ok
    but i got a small too small icon on the panel while my icon is 80x80.png?
    how to get a large one's
    thank

  7. #7
    Administrator BlackBox's Avatar
    Join Date
    2009-11
    Posts
    5,714
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: How to create a CUIX through code

    If memory serves, Create GUID was not included in the Tools menu OOTB for Visual Studio Express versions (not sure which you have?); you may need to manually add it as external tool.
    "How we think determines what we do, and what we do determines what we get."

    Sincpac C3D ~ Autodesk Exchange Apps

    Computer Specs:
    Dell Precision 3660, Core i9-12900K 5.2GHz, 64GB DDR5 RAM, PCIe 4.0 M.2 SSD (RAID 0), 16GB NVIDIA RTX A4000

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    2013-01
    Posts
    18
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: How to create a CUIX through code

    how to proceed
    i've seen Building an Installer by Kean Walmsley but it's for versio 2010 and too complex
    steps for deploying AutoCAD plugin with Windows Installer
    thank you

  9. #9
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2007-08
    Posts
    201
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: How to create a CUIX through code

    If you want to use Windows Installer you cannot avoid building an installer and if you just need to deploy a bundle in an Application Plugin directory, its no so complex.

    As I said, with VS2013 or VS2015 free Community Edition versions, you can add extensions to Visual Studio (this is one of the first benefits on Express versions). The Microsoft Visual Studio 2013 (or 2015) Installer Projects provides the same wizzard as the one in VS2008 or VS2010 so all the docs are still relevant.

    Set the installation folder for the bundle folder
    - Install the extension.
    - In the same Visual Studio solution as your plugin, add a new project, choose: Other Project Types > Visual Studio Installer > Setup Project.
    - In the File System Tab (if not automatically opened, right click the Setup project in the solution explorer > View > File System, select the Application Folder and set its DefaultLocation property to the Autodesk\ApplicationPlugins directory you want to deploy your bundle:
    [AppDataFolder]\Autodesk\ApplicationPlugins
    [CommonAppDataFolder]\Autodesk\ApplicationPlugins
    [ProgramFilesFolder]\Autodesk\ApplicationPlugins

    installer2.png

    Build your bundle folder
    - Right click the Application Folder > Add > Folder and rename the folder with your .bundle folder name.
    - Right click the newly created bundle folder > Add > File and browse to your PackageContents.xml file.
    - Right click the newly created bundle folder > Add > Folder and rename the folder "Contents" (or any other name you choose for the folder which contents you app)
    - Right click the newly created Contents folder > Add > Project output > and choose you plugin DLL.
    You can build the bundle folder as you need to match the (relative) paths described in your PackageContents.xml file (e.g. add the CUIX file and so on).
    installer1.png

    Build the solution and try the installation: right click the setup project > Install it should work.
    You can also edit the installation user interface (e.g. remove the Installation Folder dialog) right click the setup project > View > User interface.
    Last edited by _gile; 2015-11-28 at 05:44 PM.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    2013-01
    Posts
    18
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: How to create a CUIX through code

    very well yhank you.
    i'm going to see what that gives
    see you

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Edit/Create Code Set Syles in Quick Properties
    By civil3d.wishlist1941 in forum Civil 3D Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2010-10-07, 01:19 AM
  2. Company CUIX
    By thomas.stright in forum AutoCAD CUI Menus
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2010-06-03, 10:54 PM
  3. Missing pdfic.cuix pdfmacad.cuix
    By kathleen.143968 in forum AutoCAD CUI Menus
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2010-02-01, 10:51 PM
  4. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 2007-10-09, 01:11 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •