See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Unchanged dwg still prompts to save changes

  1. #1
    100 Club jsr13's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Virginia - USA
    Posts
    130
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Unchanged dwg still prompts to save changes

    We've got Arch Desktop 2004 (using as AutoCAD only - no Desktop amenities). Many times we will open a dwg file just to view or plot. Every time we close those drawings, we are prompted to "save changes." I have tested this out: open a drawing & close that drawing with nothing in between. No zooms, pans... Nothing in between OPEN & CLOSE, yet we are still prompted to "save changes."

    Is there a way to change this? If you make no changes, it shouldn't prompt you to save something you didn't do, right? It's a small thing, but something that really shouldn't happen. Right?

    Thanks in advance for any input & help.
    Jeff Rayhorn

    Sinclair Pratt Cameron, P.C.
    Consulting Structural Engineers
    Virginia Beach
    Virginia, USA

  2. #2
    I could stop if I wanted to scwegner's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-12
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    449
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: Unchanged dwg still prompts to save changes

    It happens because AutoCAD considers lots of things a drawing change. If it's happening when all you do is open and then close, then I would guess that you have a lisp or something that runs at startup that's registering as a change. You can get a better idea of what's happening by checking the dbmod system variable.

    1 Object database modified
    4 Database variable modified
    8 Window modified
    16 View modified
    32 Field modified

    You can suppress it with vlisp using acdbSetDbmod( ) but that can be dangerous because if you don't do it correctly it may not prompt when there really was a change you wanted to save.
    Another way is to use acad-push-dbmod and acad-pop-dbmod with the same risk.
    Last edited by scwegner; 2005-08-19 at 02:52 PM.

  3. #3
    Certified AUGI Addict jaberwok's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    0,0,0 The Origin
    Posts
    8,570
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Unchanged dwg still prompts to save changes

    If you open a second file that is seen as a change to the first file.
    John B

    "You can't convince a believer of anything; for their belief is not based on evidence, it's based on a deep-seated need to believe." - Carl Sagan

  4. #4
    The Silent Type Mike.Perry's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Posts
    13,656
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Unchanged dwg still prompts to save changes

    Hi

    Check out the following Technical Document on the Autodesk web site under the Knowledge Base section -

    ID: TS42354 - Save changes prompt displays when no changes to drawing were made

    Have a good one, Mike

  5. #5
    100 Club jsr13's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Virginia - USA
    Posts
    130
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Unchanged dwg still prompts to save changes

    Quote Originally Posted by scwegner
    You can suppress it with vlisp using acdbSetDbmod( ) but that can be dangerous because if you don't do it correctly it may not prompt when there really was a change you wanted to save.
    Another way is to use acad-push-dbmod and acad-pop-dbmod with the same risk.
    Well, I'll not worry about it since it's such a trivial thing when there is the possibility of it not prompting when it should.

    Thanks for the info anyway, guys!
    Jeff Rayhorn

    Sinclair Pratt Cameron, P.C.
    Consulting Structural Engineers
    Virginia Beach
    Virginia, USA

  6. #6
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Unchanged dwg still prompts to save changes

    Is there any example on how to do that with vlisp?

  7. #7
    Certifiable AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2001-03
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL
    Posts
    3,376
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Unchanged dwg still prompts to save changes

    Quote Originally Posted by Michael.Zindath773861 View Post
    Is there any example on how to do that with vlisp?
    Check out: http://help.autodesk.com/view/ACD/20...0-FFEA28E5A86F
    and: http://docs.autodesk.com/ACD/2011/EN...b7ccc-6ad4.htm
    for ideas to put in to your acaddoc.lsp file
    Code:
    (setvar 'dbmod 0)
    Tom Beauford P.S.M. - Civil 2020 on Windows 10 Enterprise
    Design Analysis - Leon County Public Works/Engineering Wrap [CODE] tags around selected text
    2280 Miccosukee Rd. Tallahassee, FL 32308-5310
    Ph# (850)606-1516 Home Page

Similar Threads

  1. API Control of Prompts
    By Wish List System in forum Inventor Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2014-05-15, 11:57 AM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2011-10-24, 03:45 PM
  3. Block prompts
    By gfreddog in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2009-05-26, 04:40 PM
  4. Defaults in prompts?
    By g_wong in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2009-01-30, 04:53 PM
  5. Keywords in prompts for Block Attribute Prompts.
    By autocad.wishlist1734 in forum AutoCAD Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2009-01-13, 04:21 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •