Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Switch host objects

  1. #1
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2001-07
    Posts
    488
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Question Switch host objects

    I need to objects that are host to a wall not in the group how do I swtich a toilet to not to be host by a wall?
    Thank for the help
    Will

  2. #2
    Super Moderator beegee's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Location
    crusing 11 kms above Australia
    Posts
    5,153
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Switch host objects

    Select everything except the hosting element then paste it into a new generic (non-hosted ) family template.
    Bruce Gow.

    Karel*CAD. Application Specialist..
    Architect.
    Revitalize. Blog

  3. #3
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2001-07
    Posts
    488
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Angry Re: Switch host objects

    It seams that i am not able to past my interior walls doors and plumbing fixture into a new generic model family template a got a message that said "Can't copy between Family and Project" How do i create a family?
    thanks

  4. #4
    Super Moderator beegee's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Location
    crusing 11 kms above Australia
    Posts
    5,153
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Switch host objects

    I must be misunderstanding you. I thought you wanted to make a toilet that was not wall hosted. If thats the case, just select the toilet and copy into the generic non-hosted familytemplate to make that particular family.
    If thats not the case, I need some more explanation of what you what to do.
    Bruce Gow.

    Karel*CAD. Application Specialist..
    Architect.
    Revitalize. Blog

  5. #5
    Aussie Revit Moderator Mr Spot's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-05
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    1,115
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Switch host objects

    You have to open up the family in question first, create a new plumbing fixture non-hosted and then select all the elements in the hosted family and paste them into the non-hosted family.

    Cheers.
    Chris Price
    Co-Founder/BIM Manager/Product Designer
    Xrev Pty Ltd

    Revit Rants BLOG

  6. #6
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2003-04
    Location
    London NW9
    Posts
    377
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Switch host objects

    The factory need an easier way for us to change these family types from wall hosted to Non hosted.

    Does anyone really use the wall and floor hosted families ?

    I find these to be VERY dangerous in the fact that a user could delete the wall or floor and not realise they have blown away all the hosted families placed on that wall or floor.

  7. #7
    I could stop if I wanted to rhys's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Location
    Cotswolds, UK
    Posts
    433
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Switch host objects

    Quote Originally Posted by Phil Palmer
    The factory need an easier way for us to change these family types from wall hosted to Non hosted.

    Does anyone really use the wall and floor hosted families ?

    I find these to be VERY dangerous in the fact that a user could delete the wall or floor and not realise they have blown away all the hosted families placed on that wall or floor.
    I agree it would make life a lot simple particulary when using groups not to have items wall hosted by default. Too much parametrics for my liking in some cases. Whats needed in an ideal word is a virtual wall which attaches to the real wall, so that hosted objects can be grouped with the virtual wall, attaching and locking only when instructed to the real wall.
    Last edited by rhys; 2004-06-23 at 02:50 PM.

  8. #8
    AUGI Addict sfaust's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-01
    Location
    Littleton, CO (Denver Metro)
    Posts
    1,535
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Switch host objects

    copy all of the objects from the family editor (with the toilet family open), not from the project that it was inserted in. then paste in new template as beegee suggests.
    Steve

  9. #9
    AUGI Addict sfaust's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-01
    Location
    Littleton, CO (Denver Metro)
    Posts
    1,535
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Switch host objects

    i can see how they would be dangerous, but I do use the wall based ones quite a bit and I like the idea. some objects need to be wall based and would need to be removed if the wall was removed...

    just my .02
    Steve

  10. #10
    I could stop if I wanted to Haden's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-05
    Location
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Posts
    292
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Angry Re: Switch host objects

    Quote Originally Posted by beegee
    Select everything except the hosting element then paste it into a new generic (non-hosted ) family template.
    It doesn't seem to be possible to select everything but the hosting element! For example, when I try to make a non-hosted window, the copy to clipboard option is grayed out when I select all but the wall, and even if I use the funnel to deselect everything but ref planes, I still either get a message that the selected elements cannot be copied, or the copy to clipboard option is grayed out!
    Haden D. Smith, AIA
    St. Louis, MO

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. 2015: Can't convert Instance's Host to Work Plane. Try resetting Host to a Level.
    By claudio.aravena.c402476 in forum Revit - Platform
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2015-05-18, 01:52 AM
  2. Visability in host file of DWG objects imported into a linked file
    By Duncan Lithgow in forum Revit - In Practice
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2011-11-01, 08:43 AM
  3. Allow objects to host other objects
    By anthony.67953 in forum Revit Architecture - Wish List
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2005-04-12, 10:44 PM
  4. Double switch plates and switch/outlet combos
    By christo4robin in forum Revit Architecture - Families
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 2004-12-04, 04:23 AM
  5. Switch host objects
    By Wagurto in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2004-06-23, 02:01 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •