Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: export layout to model

  1. #1
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2004-06
    Location
    Slidell, Louisiana
    Posts
    771
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default export layout to model

    I need to send the client a cad file but don't want to send them the entire file which is huge.
    I tried export layout to model, but after 25 minutes it finally said "* EXPORTLAYOUT failed to generate a new drawing. **"
    I ran audit and recover and recoverall prior to running the command.
    is there any other way of generating what i am looking for.
    Robert

  2. #2
    Administrator Opie's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-01
    Location
    jUSt Here (a lot)
    Posts
    8,405
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: export layout to model

    Did you promote all data references and bind all xrefs beforehand?

    Also, that command creates a new drawing based on the layout's coordinates. Therefore, if you need them to remain at the original coordinates, you will need to scale/align the generated drawing back to the original coordinates.
    If you have a technical question, please find the appropriate forum and ask it there.
    You will get a quicker response from your fellow AUGI members than if you sent it to me via a PM or email.
    jUSt

  3. #3
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2004-06
    Location
    Slidell, Louisiana
    Posts
    771
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: export layout to model

    The dwg has no data references or xrefs and is a little bit over 8 MB in size.
    Robert

  4. #4
    Certifiable AUGI Addict cadtag's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Cairo - no, not Illinois
    Posts
    4,726
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: export layout to model

    try ExportToAutoCAD _first, and then try to export the layout to model
    Real pirates wear silk suits & ties, and write EULAs
    The only thing more dangerous to the liberty of a free people than big government, is big business.

    Toward a Sustainable Water Future: Visions for 2050 http://ascelibrary.org/doi/book/10.1061/9780784412077

  5. #5
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2004-06
    Location
    Slidell, Louisiana
    Posts
    771
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: export layout to model

    tried exporttoAutocad, saved as a 2010 version. made the file 135 mb in size. opened in vanilla Acad2016-ran export layout to model.
    only took 3 min. to come back as a failure compared to 30 min. using C3D2016, but still a failure. GRRRR!!!
    Robert

  6. #6
    Certifiable AUGI Addict cadtag's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Cairo - no, not Illinois
    Posts
    4,726
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: export layout to model

    with the vanilla (2010) version of the dwg, run the 'Civil3d as AutoCAD' shortcut to avoid loading any AEC cruft into the drawing,

    oops, reading failure. Purge and audit in vanilla? purge regapps?
    Real pirates wear silk suits & ties, and write EULAs
    The only thing more dangerous to the liberty of a free people than big government, is big business.

    Toward a Sustainable Water Future: Visions for 2050 http://ascelibrary.org/doi/book/10.1061/9780784412077

  7. #7
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2008-02
    Location
    North Liberty
    Posts
    60
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: export layout to model

    I learned you can reduce file size by 'blocking' features in model space. So block similar features and see if it reduces the size.
    "Whatever you are, be a good one."
    — Abraham Lincoln

  8. #8
    Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Join Date
    2013-01
    Posts
    1
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: export layout to model

    Hello my friends
    When I get AutoCAD export from Civil3d , link between the model and layouts is lost and gives me some AutoCAD files.
    For example, I have a map in Civil3d with four layout
    When I get the export I get five dwg files
    I want to give an output file and the link between the model and layouts is not lost.

Similar Threads

  1. Export Layout Tab Names
    By avdesign in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 2019-05-22, 04:21 AM
  2. Export Layout Tabs to drawing files
    By andy in forum AutoCAD Customization
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2015-10-08, 01:27 PM
  3. Layout export
    By Marco-Rome in forum AutoCAD Plotting
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2011-07-26, 06:53 AM
  4. Export layout as a new model.
    By mAnOO in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2010-10-11, 05:12 AM
  5. Import and Export Model or Layout Views
    By IanR in forum AutoCAD Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2008-02-05, 08:01 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •