Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Dynamo AutoCAD/Civil 3D Integrations

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2015-01
    Posts
    27

    Default Dynamo AutoCAD/Civil 3D Integrations

    Hi all,
    I was wondering what it takes to build some dynamo nodes able to interact with autocad and Civil 3D. I saw what can be done with the bridge package, and I would like to automate it further by accessing the civil 3D document instead of having to export the report.

    After some research I figured out that I cannot control autocad with .net api from an outside process, so the options are:
    1 - write the nodes with the Interop library/ COM API
    2 - use some IPC techniques (WCF? WEB api? simple Named Pipes?) and write a .NET AutoCAD/Civil Plugin that act as a server for the Nodes calls.

    #1 can be really slow, and since everyone is saying I should avoid COM, then so be it. But #2 seems like a lot of work to me, especially because I never did any IPC.
    Is there a magic wand to expose all the AutocAD .NET API via some IPC mechanism?
    Did you come up with better solutions?

  2. #2
    Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Join Date
    2017-05
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: Dynamo AutoCAD/Civil 3D Integrations

    I noticed your question is repeated on the dynamo forum and it may be useful to some so I'm linking it here:



  3. #3
    I could stop if I wanted to tntdraftsol's Avatar
    Join Date
    2008-03
    Location
    Columbia/Jefferson City, MO
    Posts
    224

    Default Re: Dynamo AutoCAD/Civil 3D Integrations

    Quote Originally Posted by a.ghensi689507 View Post
    Hi all,
    I was wondering what it takes to build some dynamo nodes able to interact with autocad and Civil 3D. I saw what can be done with the bridge package, and I would like to automate it further by accessing the civil 3D document instead of having to export the report.

    After some research I figured out that I cannot control autocad with .net api from an outside process, so the options are:
    1 - write the nodes with the Interop library/ COM API
    2 - use some IPC techniques (WCF? WEB api? simple Named Pipes?) and write a .NET AutoCAD/Civil Plugin that act as a server for the Nodes calls.

    #1 can be really slow, and since everyone is saying I should avoid COM, then so be it. But #2 seems like a lot of work to me, especially because I never did any IPC.
    Is there a magic wand to expose all the AutocAD .NET API via some IPC mechanism?
    Did you come up with better solutions?
    Did you find any further information about your question? I am also exploring ways of how to use Dynamo with Civil 3D. Thank you for posting this.
    Mike Tuter
    Engineering Design Technician
    Missouri Department of Conservation
    Revit Structure Certified Professional
    @CAD_Minion

Similar Threads

  1. 2016: Underpass Design in Civil Structures for Revit/ AutoCAD Civil 3D
    By MirandaO in forum Revit Structure - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2016-06-10, 09:34 AM
  2. AutoCAD Civil 3D & AutoCAD Civil Service Pack 1 is out
    By Glenn Pope in forum AutoCAD Civil 3D - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2009-08-03, 03:09 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2008-02-11, 08:11 PM
  4. Webcast for Civil Engineers: Introduction to AutoCAD Civil 3D 2008
    By Brogueira-CADptbr in forum Português - AutoCAD Civil 3D / AutoCAD Land Desktop / AutoCAD Map 3D
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2007-02-26, 10:34 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •