Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: State Area of Hatch when Selected

  1. #1
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default State Area of Hatch when Selected

    Hello,

    Is there a way of getting a Field to state an area of a hatch with minimal clicking?
    I know how to assign a field to a hatch to state the area, however I'd like a feature so that people new to cad can easily click on a hatch and have the area stated in sq m and sq ft, without going into the field to assign it.
    I have had experiences of people making mistakes when translating the states sq mm into sq m.

    Thank you in advanced.

  2. #2
    Certifiable AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2001-03
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL
    Posts
    3,236
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: State Area of Hatch when Selected

    Many lisp solutions for labeling area available with a quick search.

    To many units, precision description options and other settings involved to make it a simple universal command. Still possible, but many users may get frustrated with setting it up. Doubt AutoCAD wants to risk folk blaming them when the area displays incorrectly because it wasn't set up correctly.
    Tom Beauford P.S.M. - Civil 2019 on Windows 10 Enterprise
    Design Analysis - Leon County Public Works/Engineering Wrap [CODE] tags around selected text
    2280 Miccosukee Rd. Tallahassee, FL 32308-5310
    Ph# (850)606-1516 Home Page

  3. #3
    Certifiable AUGI Addict cadtag's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Cairo - no, not Illinois
    Posts
    4,753
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: State Area of Hatch when Selected

    'state" as in label? or 'state' as in display? for former, see Tom's answer. For the latter, consider looking at the Hatch Properties for area.

    (and if people are having issues converting mm to m, buddah bless them if they ever have to deal with imperial units)
    Real pirates wear silk suits & ties, and write EULAs
    The only thing more dangerous to the liberty of a free people than big government, is big business.

    Toward a Sustainable Water Future: Visions for 2050 http://ascelibrary.org/doi/book/10.1061/9780784412077

Similar Threads

  1. 2016: Hatch Area Error (Selected object does not have an area)
    By syedshanhaider708501 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2015-09-10, 12:44 PM
  2. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2014-04-18, 02:52 PM
  3. Live Section to Dispay Pre-Selected Hatch Patterns
    By IanR in forum AutoCAD Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2009-07-05, 10:57 PM
  4. Render selected area
    By nextvkin in forum AutoCAD 3D (2007 and above)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2007-07-20, 12:25 PM
  5. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2007-06-18, 01:33 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •