Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Value from parameter into a field?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2017-02
    Posts
    2
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Question Value from parameter into a field?

    Trying to explore the possibilities with parametric design. Is it possible to get the value from a named parameter into a field?

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    2017-02
    Posts
    2
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Value from parameter into a field?

    Ended up with a workaround. I had to connect the user parameter to a linear constraint to be able to select it as an object in the field dialog box. Not pretty but it works Are there other ways to do it?

  3. #3
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2015-10
    Location
    Central New Jersey
    Posts
    414
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Value from parameter into a field?

    I'm looking into a similar scenario. I have a user parameter that I want to use in a formula and then display as part of the block. So far the only way I can find to get to the user parameter is with field in an attribute. Fields in attributes can get to them by name. The attribute's value contains a few fields within a formula. I'd like to protect that attribute/formula from being inadvertently edited by the user. I'd rather it just be Mtext with a field by a field in Mtext can't reach the user parameter.

    Locking an attribute isn't directly possible. It was sort-of be accomplished by placing the attribute on a locked layer, however, that layer can't be locked at the instance the block is inserted or the attribute will never update when values/calculations change. Locking the layer afterward does prevent the attribute from being edited and still allows it to update. I'm not happy with that as a solution and looking to setting up some dummy linear parameters to hold the values I want to use so I could get to them with an Mtext field formula, change them from the properties window and have them protected from being easily broken.

Similar Threads

  1. Adding Text to a Length Field Parameter
    By dhulsberg in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2009-04-01, 04:28 PM
  2. Field showing Parameter Value?
    By Teun Ham in forum Dynamic Blocks - Technical
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 2007-12-05, 03:31 PM
  3. Parameter Description Field Improvement
    By autocad.wishlist1734 in forum AutoCAD Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2006-07-12, 12:03 PM
  4. Group parameter under: field question
    By jarod.tulanowski in forum Revit Architecture - Families
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2005-01-07, 01:06 PM
  5. Group parameter under: field question
    By jarod.tulanowski in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2005-01-06, 06:25 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •