Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Translucent Wipeout

  1. #1
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2015-10
    Location
    Central New Jersey
    Posts
    438
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Translucent Wipeout

    We're all familiar with the use of wipeouts to completely block out anything that is behind it based on its draw order, however, apparently you can also give it a translucency such that it it only partially obscures the items behind it. I happened upon it earlier this week. I'm not quite sure what to do with it yet but I thought I'd share it with others.

    I suppose one could place it within a block behind its contents, set the translucency to 50, and it would '50% screen' existing items behind where the block of new items was place. One could add it to an area of a drawing, set a translucency, then set the draw order of items to be above or below it to screen those items, but only when they crossed into that partial wipeout area.
    Last edited by MMccall; 2017-02-13 at 01:37 PM.

  2. #2
    Administrator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,802
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Translucent Wipeout

    A Good tip. Thanks.
    R.K. McSwain | CAD Panacea |

  3. #3
    Certifiable AUGI Addict cadtag's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Cairo - no, not Illinois
    Posts
    4,967
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Translucent Wipeout

    yes, thanks. I've got a couple of scenarios where that will be useful. Now if we could just do that with C3D Labels, or Mtext/Dim backgrounds....

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    2016-02
    Location
    Chantilly, VA
    Posts
    8
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Translucent Wipeout

    Where is this feature , I'm using 2016 C3D and I do not see this feature....is it in 2017?

  5. #5
    Administrator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,802
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Translucent Wipeout

    No, it works in all versions since transparency was introduced, which was AutoCAD 2011 I believe.

    Make sure you have transparency enabled (TRANSPARENCYDISPLAY = 1)
    R.K. McSwain | CAD Panacea |

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    2017-11
    Posts
    2
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Translucent Wipeout

    Where do I ask questions?

  7. #7
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2015-10
    Location
    Central New Jersey
    Posts
    438
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Translucent Wipeout

    You can ask your question right here.

Similar Threads

  1. wall with translucent panels
    By olson in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2008-12-11, 05:31 PM
  2. Translucent hatch patterns
    By mserapiglia in forum Impression - General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2008-07-10, 09:49 PM
  3. Civil 3D 2007 - Wipeout does not wipeout Objects in a floating viewport
    By youngrl501483 in forum AutoCAD Civil 3D - General
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 2007-03-14, 09:47 PM
  4. Translucent Shaded Views
    By gregcashen in forum Revit Architecture - Wish List
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 2005-08-19, 09:02 PM
  5. translucent coloring
    By Maverick91 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2004-09-24, 04:02 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •